My Exodus Wallet Was Hacked?💰 $140 ETH Randomly In My Account💸

in #philosophy6 years ago

0_main_170522_gbr_moneyorder_1920x1080.jpg


Someone Else In My Wallet

As of recently, I decided to check up on my Exodus wallet as you hear about these hacks on the rise not only on exchanges but on huge exchanges. An example may be the Coincheck hack where NEM was stolen and supposedly converted into other cryptocurrencies.

ETH transactions.PNG

What Had Happened?

I've seen some weird activity happening regarding my ETH wallet. I think someone else has a hold of the private key as recently someone had moved in and moved out 0.166ETH. Only the ETH wallet was used which leads me to suspect that someone else has a private key as my other funds weren't touched.

For sure my private key for this certain wallet is compromised however this has overall hurt my trust in Exodus. I haven't used the wallet for ETH nor have I used the private key anywhere and I can't think of any other reason how my key could've been leaked.

I looked at where the funds went and it seems like it is sitting dormant on a random wallet that has only had this one specific transaction. Nothing else. From what I could uncover it seemed as if the ETH had initially come from an exchange and I don't know why someone would use me as a 'middle-man' of some sorts.

Keeping Your Keys In Cold Storage

I'm glad that I had no Ethereum on the wallet but one thing I can take away from this experience is that it is probably best for me to get hold of a Trezor or Ledger Nano S in the future where I can keep my funds and feel at ease.

However, I've heard people I've heard malware can be put on these devices so it is probably best to buy it directly from the respected company or/ as well as reset the device when you receive it.

Cold storage in the context of Bitcoin refers to keeping a reserve of Bitcoins offline and away from online sites in which they may keep your private key on a server. You can keep your keys in cold storage by keeping your keys on a USB drive or other storage media, on a Paper wallet or by using an offline Bitcoin Hardware wallet

Sort:  

I received 150 DOGE last week, in a really weird transaction chain. 39M DOGE were dispersed to a shipload of wallets. Mine got 150, and another wallet split it down even further.

Even weirder, my wallet isn't public. I created it on Coinomi, and have been using it for deposits.

That is really unusual. It seems like the criminals would prefer other people to have their earnings instead of them haha

Yeah, it was weird. The initial wallet sent a good 15k DOGE to a handful of wallets. Each of those would send 150 to someone, and the remainder to another. Then that one would send 150 DOGE to one, and the remainder to another. It repeated until it got to the last person. It's all up on the blockchain, and it weirds me out. It had 20 confirmations on my transaction, and nothing has moved out since.

I'm in this "I shouldn't be looking a gift horse in the mouth" kind of mindset, but at the same time, I've got alarms going off and no idea what to do about it.

Nice post, this is enlightening. I will keep that in mind

Nice..good post..thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61