Does Existence Rely On You Experiencing It? 🌎 See To Exist 👀

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)


I have been thinking recently, thinking about when do we classify one thing as 'existing'. I actually have thought about the very fact that you might have to offer a place for something to truly perceive it's existence.

If Something Is 'There' Does It Exist?

When does something exist? I do know chocolate exists as a result of I can go to a supermarket, pick up and eat a bar of chocolate; thus if one thing is 'there' will that mean it exists?

However, there are alternative things that we cannot point at and acquire. However, we all know that it's there. Space for instance, if I ask you where space is, you'd point to the sky, the immense emptiness of the sky. However, we all know space exists. Thus this adds another mystery to our puzzle.

In most instances, if you can see and touch one thing within the world, it in all probability exists. Although I point to the sky and say, "Space is there!" the majority would agree that it's if truth be told 'there'.

If I say, space exists because it's there and point to the sky. I'd be correct as space is something measurable that surrounds us.

When Does Something Not Exist?

Sometimes, 'there' is in our minds. We have ideas. Ideas are 'there', however, they're not within the observable Universe, they're in our minds. We don't apprehend precisely where 'there' is, however we all know these ideas exist as we can recite them back to others.

One issue we can look at with existence within our minds is God. there's no definitive proof of God's presence. We cannot see God. God could also be all around us. However, we cannot see this entity that apparently constantly surrounds us.

If we think concerning the concept that God is omnipresent, which will defeat the purpose of God being 'there'. If God is omnipresent, he's everywhere. If we are saying that to exist you want to be 'there', God doesn't exist. God doesn't exist in one specific location, he's everywhere and with our logic, doesn't exist. I guess this argument might have flaws and maybe it can be used to support the omnipresence of God. What are your thoughts?

Sort:  

I do not consider myself religious or have a lot of knowledge in religion. To answer the question, yes I feel like if I can see or touch something then it is real and it exists. I can't see my own brain, but I have seen the brains of other people so I know my brain exists. It also works by association.

I have no proof any God does or does not exist. There may be 100 Gods, there may be none. Nobody has been able to prove or disprove the existence of any of the thousands of Gods that are talked about in various religious writings.

Even so, I cannot say Gods do not exist. We have not explored all of space and time yet, and we might not have the senses to understand superhuman or supernatural beings.

I will just leave it at that. Thanks for sharing.

I guess most things that we 'see' in the physical world, we don't even know much about them. I keep hearing new things about water and how there are many other states differing from the conventional 3 we are used to.

I appreciate your post very much, we look forward to the next situation

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by numpty from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81