You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Etymology and the Magic of Words

That seemingly unimportant childs rhyme "Sticks and stones can break my bones but words can never hurt me" is dangerously untrue. Words can leave damage that lasts a lifetime.

Words are powerful.

Sort:  

Indeed, words are. People have underestimated the influence of words and symbols to their detriment. Thanks for the feedback.

This thread takes me back to my college days. After college (1980-1984), it became increasingly difficult for me to find people who enjoy thinking and TALKING like this. Who mentions Wittgenstein in conversation (except me)? People of steemit! Yay! I may have found a home!

The pen can be a sword, and so can the tongue, hence all the Biblical admonitions on the wisdom of silence. Even if we mean well, our words can get twisted in transit and land as barbs and missiles rather than missives.

Touche' and well played!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55