You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I'm Not a Vegan

in #philosophy6 years ago

I'm not clear on how prejudice can ever be fair. If you are judging someone based on no information, or less information than needed, then to me that can never be acceptable, and is 99 times out of 100 going to be inaccurate.

How can you judge someone based on no information? Is that even possible?
And in regards to less than is needed.. I'm not exactly sure how to respond to that part either as I think everyone's perception of what that need is varies and it prolly varies on a case by case basis as well, though I would agree that having more info to inform our decisions is better.

I don't think you can be prejudice against something like rape and murder, because you already know intimately what it is about rape and about murder that you don't like it, and therefore it is a fair judgement because you can say I am against it because it is morally wrong.

But.. Yet some people not only have no problem with rape or murder they indulge in it. So.. I think you appear to be sort of projecting your own beliefs onto this as opposed to just what happens in general out there in the world, many people unfortunately still believe in rape and murder.

It's not really the same as being prejudice against, say black people, because one stole your bike once. That doesn't mean that all black people are going to steal your bike. But, you can, if you know someone raped someone, without prejudice, understand that this person did wrong.

No it's not the same, but prejudice is prejudice whether it is about race or virtually any other subject.

I'm with you on beliefs and chains though. But, I have given this a lot of thought and wonder if those chains are somewhat necessary. Life would be utter chaos if we had genuinely no beliefs.

Yes.. It does seem like life would not work very well if we could not "remember" certain things about how the world operates, it's great to try to look at things with fresh eyes, though I think it can be a disastrous thing sometimes to try to throw out everything you've learned. What would be the point of learning and growing if you couldn't keep it? shrug

Sometimes when I meditate, I try to let go of all my preconceived notions of the world. I look at the ceiling and try to forget that I expect it to stay there. Then when I start to think it may fall on top of me, I let go of that too and try to open my mind to the possibility that it may instead rise up, or change colour, or turn into a swarm of starlings and start swimming through the water that might randomly fill the room. lol.

That sounds like an interesting and cool mental exercise!

It sounds entirely nuts but it often allows me to slip into a trance like state so much quicker.

Hmm.. You know I was thinking similar when you mentioned that even though I've never really done it as a conscious mental exercise like you.

In regards to religion I do think it can be useful, for some. But I think most use it as an excuse to stop asking questions. As you said, life is the greatest mystery. Where did we come from? Why are we here? These are questions that burden every one of us. But, they are uncomfortable questions because they are so damn hard to answer. So, people adopt beliefs, doctrines or scientific "facts" that answer those questions for them, and negate the uncomfortable feeling of not knowing. It's like giving up on a crossword because you've become frustrated that you cannot solve it.

I love this part, do you mind if I quote you here? But yeah. I agree a lot! And I hope I never give up, even if it's likely impossible to ever fully figure out.

But, I am only a few books into the Bible, so perhaps my opinion will change upon completion. I certainly feel at the moment though, that there is nothing you can observe, read or learn in this world that you cannot find within yourself. And perhaps the answers to those profound questions are also within. I am sure a lot of religions speak to this idea also.

I'm not sure if I agree with this because symbols are external, how could we ever even speak a word with any kind of hope for others to comprehend it or even ourselves if we didn't have some kind of external agreement upon what that word means?

I do think all of this information and stuff is inside of us inherently to an extent, I'm just not sure if we can realize it or tap into it without external influences and interactions.
Good to hear from you again! Hope all is well. :)

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64863.39
ETH 3196.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53