I admit I messed up a lil bit.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #philosophy7 years ago

I wanted to admit a sort of mistake of mine, the other day I posted a link about Jesus likely being a fictional character to control the masses based on a find of what they claimd was the first pope and texts found with him that admitted those things.

No one called me out on this, and I coulda said nothing and just let it slide. But.. I looked it up cause I got curious, and I shoulda looked it up before I even shared it.. That's where my mistake was.. Even though I admitted and the article itself admitted it wasn't "fact" yet.. I got curious and tried to dig deeper and couldn't find much.

It looks like it was a deceptive article because no names are named in regards to the people involved, and you can't really find any sources about it.. So I think it was a fake article. Sorry about that..

Many people will never acknowledge or admit to being wrong, it's like an epidemic.. I try to avoid that.. Sometimes I can be stubborn, but I do really try to admit when I'm wrong.

It doesn't really change much of the rant that I had to do along with the link, I stand by most of what I said there. But that particular article looks bunk and I admit I shared something again without investigating deeper than I should have. I apologize and will most likely acknowledge every time I make a mistake like that and admit it.. Cause.. I think it is important to research what you share more first, or at least include some kind of disclaimer about the potential veracity of it, which I admit I did.. As I already stated, I did state in advance it might not be legit and the article itself did too. But.. Still. Wanted to be up front and admit that I made a mistake and now it looks like that article was probably bunk.

Can't say for sure cause I just don't know.. But it does look to be a sorta clickbait type of fake article.

Sort:  

I appreciate your honesty!

I appreciate that you appreciate my honesty. :)

Still fictional but it's nice to see you aren't willing to lie to make the case.

I agree it most likely is fictional. But I admit I can't prove it either way. And also yeah.. Normally I prob would have checked it a bit closer, but I didn't. Was dumb of me. Happens every once and a while where I share something without checking closer. Oh well. Thanks for acknowledging my efforts to be honest.

There is a movie currently in the theaters called "The Case for Christ." It's based on a book by Lee Strobel who was an investigative reporter for the Chicago Tribune. He was an atheist and, when his wife converted to Evangelical Christianity, he set out to disprove the existence of Jesus. As he explored the historical evidence, he ended up joining his wife. Since it deals with the issue of whether or not Jesus existed, you might find it interesting.

It is rare to find confident individuals that can say they are wrong. I am happy to be following you.
Mistakes are always forgivable, if one has the courage to admit them. Bruce Lee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72