---> Good Vibes 12 <--- Leave your past where it belongs, in the past!

in #philosophy8 years ago (edited)

Does the past ever creep up on you?

It does to me, quite often. I have to catch myself from falling too far back after a success. The past always comes back to remind us of previous failures we have in life. It tries to bring us down to where we were before. The past wants us to remain with it and alongside it. But we must resist. Our minds are powerful, but when we have regrets, we can become consumed.

The past shows up when we are doing our best work.

Anytime we begin to be successful, thoughts of our prior mistakes begin to take over our minds. We must be vigilant, and at the first sign of a negative thought, we must cut it off. Negative thoughts are like seeds, if we don’t allow them to be planted, they cannot grow.

Ignoring the past won’t help, we must revisit it.

Although ignoring the past may work temporarily, eventually we will have to face it, and when we do, it can be very difficult. I feel that doing so, is best done with family, friends or a therapist. Unfortunately, I have had a hard time revisiting my past. I do my best to share it with others, but at times, it can be overwhelming. I know that I just have to keep trying, and one day, I will overcome.

It starts with Acceptance.

Accept the past for what it is, then move forward with your life. The past may be a huge monster, but if we can understand that the past is just the past, and we live in the moment, we can change the way we think. I also try to remember that it is exactly as it was meant to be, and I need to understand that there is nothing truly wrong with it, only I assign it that judgment. Eventually we will all have to face the past, and if we are ready, we can accept it and move on.


If you like this or my other posts or if you want to read my other work click here for my personal page and hit the button in the top right corner! Also if you know someone who could benefit from this post, please share it :} Thank you for reading :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51