You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fatalism and the Law of Attraction

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

As a kind of hard determinist, I tend to disgree with a number of your assertions.

First of all, I believe that man acts in accordance with their nature, their proclivities, their biological and genetic predispositions. To help you understand where I am coming from, I do not believe man possesses the power of contrary choice.

If I was presented an opportunity for one thing or another, it is because my nature determined I would make that choice. My nature dictated that I would not raise my hand and thus, I did not.

Perhaps, such a perspective on reality seems rather droll than supposing that we had an infinite number of possibilities. I don't find Heisenberg uncertainty to be compelling enough to draw this manner of conclusion.

I don't know if I would call my self a fatalist; however. I imagine a lot of these consign themselves to no action because they think the outcome cannot be changed but I don't view it in such a manner. We have power to shape our destiny but I think the end state has already been defined before we get there. Our choices our merely a revealing of this and is compatible with the deterministic paradigm.

I also like to alluded to one making a choice on what ice cream we eat. Let's say I have an option of chocolate or vanilla. At the instant preceding my decision in my mind, the the ice cream I choose is the one that I desired most, maybe chocolate this time. I contend that I cannot in this instance have chosen vanilla. We choose according to our nature and our nature encompasses our desires.

I'm going to read your article again when I get home but next time more slowly. It's a pretty lofty topic and requires careful inquiry. Look forward to discussing further.

Sort:  

It's kind of funny to me because I don't necessarily disagree with what you're saying as that's how I thought about existence for most of my life. It's curious to me whether or not it was determined that at some point I would shift away from that line of thought into the one I have now. It's a paradox in and of itself because if it was determined that I would move away from deterministic logic, then does that mean that it was determined that at some point I would outlive the usefulness of that logic or am I just in denial of my old mindset. Interesting food for thought indeed.

Ok. I see. I think it would be safe to say utility plays a part in your adopting a philosophical point of view. I think this largely depends on how one would define utility. What would you consider makes a philosophy useful?

In my case, my ultimate determining factors are veracity, consistency, and intelligibility. I have a hard time conceptualizing libertarian free will in a mechanical sense which in my mind is something I have not been able to reconcile because I think it is evident that there are a lot of material factors that affect our decision-making.

I suppose personally it just helps me to make peace with my own existence. It's not really a tangible utility I suppose, but if life isn't worth living, then no amount of utility is going to change that. Rich people commit suicide just like poor people, I think if anything utility is probably inconsequential to mental health and spiritual well-being from my perspective. I had the whole career, decent money, American dream, and all that but it was never enough to make me happy doing things I didn't want to do. Perhaps it's all just personal preference on how we progress through life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64475.77
ETH 2770.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66