You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Will Flagging Ultimately End up Killing the Steemit Platform?

in #philosophy6 years ago

When you mentioned the George Soros thing a light came on in my head. You have just sent out a very powerful warning sign to anyone coming on here to put a lot of time and effort into making this platform a success only for destructive bankster and Commie mob rule to take over and wipe out the little man. So how is Steemit in any way different to real life? This absolutely could destroy Steemit as a bastion of free speech and information. Thanks for posting. I now have a bear inside my head playing a tug of war with a bull!

Sort:  

Thanks for your comment @anglotrucker. Hopefully, this will be something they will choose to fix on their own before it gets to that point. I'm catching some weird vibes though lately, I'm not sure Steemit is what I thought it was. For some reason I had the impression that soft censorship wasn't a thing here, but I stand corrected. I hope the right animal wins for you!

Thank @thoughts-in-time . I too came here because of the censorship from Facebook, You tube and twitter and I've been encouraging friends to join this platform, but now it's got me thinking because you could spend 2 or 3 years building value and your rep only to have a well financially supported Instawhale trash it in an instant. That isn't a way to encourage growth and long term success. Your thoughts @stephenkendal

Same. My intuition has been yelling at me for two days to the point that I had to stop my usual routines to find out if there is anything officially said about this.
Bad vibes for sure, something is not right, this is only the most recent chapter. We need more views on this, if there is a good explanation let's have it. So far I don't see any, I see continued disregard for the issues raised, reminiscent of trolls on youtube poisoning the comment section successfully by never actually backing up their stance with anything but insults.

If documentation of a staged shooting already means "we crossed the line" then most of what I came to Steemit to talk about will be flagged out of existence anyway. I get the feeling: You probably know the lies go much deeper than the occasional fake shooting and its subsequent coverup.

MUCH. DEEPER.

REALLY bad floor, I agree.
At least now I slowly start to see who is interested in finding the catch, and who isn't. If there is no catch, why do we have to press so hard to get an explanation?

So how is Steemit in any way different to real life? This absolutely could destroy Steemit as a bastion of free speech and information.

In real life, people with money can silence you. On steemit, nobody can silence anyone else.

On steemit, I simply click "Reveal comment" and it is no longer hidden.

On busy, it is not hidden at all.

The blockchain is open and readable regardless of how many downvotes you receive.

It's no more censorship than your posts spamming the trending page and pushing down more diverse content is. If you're ok with a whale the size of rancho upvoting you to the top of the trending page, then you are also ok with a whale the size of @sneak and @berniesanders bringing you back down. You can't have one without the other.

You should have listened to me way back when I first reached out to you. You'd probably be making mad bank and be one of the most loved whales on the platform. I told you being a jackass would eventually come back to haunt you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67519.16
ETH 3532.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68