You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Philosophy 101, #14: What is Modernism and how does it contrast with Pre-modernism?

This is all accurate, IMO, but we have now transitioned into global corporate oligarchy via neoliberal economics.
I think the other issue I'm having here is the issue of sustainability which is tied into limits to growth on a finite planet.
Most of these thinkers, as you mention, might be horrified at today's conditions, they lived when less a billion people were on the planet, seemingly unending resources​, so they could be forgiven for being optimistic.
I​, for one, don't share the optimism and believe history will prove my concerns as being correct.
A POST-post modernism has many many complex issues to solve and I'm not seeing much that makes me hopeful.
Socialization of the money supply would be a first necessary step....

Sort:  

Thank you very much for your comment!

I'm not so worried about the natural resources of our planets and the population. Milton Friedman expresses my views about this quite well:

Socialization of the money supply would be a first necessary step...

What do you mean with socialization? I think that decentralization of the money supply is the right way to go as it distributes the power over the money supply to a greater number of people. That's the promise of cryptocurrencies.

LOL! Posting a video by one of the main proponents of neoliberal oligarchy isn't really going to cut it for me. The dismissal of serious, serious ecological problems is a dismal position to hold, IMO....
Friedman was obviously very well aware that The Rothschild's took over the creation of the money supply which has led to enormous wealth and power ending up in the hands of a very few. This is a case of the victors writing ideology!
I'm with you on the crypto but sit right in the middle of the 50/50 position on it. Time will tell what crypto is but I do hope for the best as far as it goes on that one.
Check out positivemoney if you've never heard of it.
I mean creating and distributing the money supply at creation evenly to everyone and preferable​, not as a debt mechanism. I can see how the winners in the status quo would hate this idea......

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54640.80
ETH 2444.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16