You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A hard pill to swallow - How I look at money

in #philosophy6 years ago

Wait until you get to 60 and you're still looking at this basic life issue....
I gave that 1/3rd of my life away to people who didn't give one single damn about me as a person. I was just a part in their machine that made them money, usually lots of money. In return for giving them basically 1/3rd of my life, I received a bare minimum wage that allowed me to live like a peasant. No financial security in that at all. Living from pay check to pay check, hand to mouth...you get the basic idea. The most I've ever made at a job was 10 bucks an hour, and that was 4 years ago, before I was forced to retire by a blown out back from lifting so much heavy stuff for "the man".
Yes, there is a hint of bitterness in my tone...
However, it was what it was, and that's all it was.
At the bottom where we peasants live, financial scraps are better than homelessness...
Sometimes I wonder what I would have done with my time if working for money was unnecessary to be able to live at a basic level...

Sort:  

Oh Amber, but yet... here you are. It's not too late, not at all.

I relate to your sentiments because I feel them too. Hence why I'm so reluctant to taking one single step backwards.

word amber

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62497.97
ETH 3335.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47