11 things a lollipop taught me about life

in #philosophy7 years ago

Life is like a teacher that offers us a number of opportunities to learn. Take for instance the case when I as a kid insisted on getting a lollipop and what followed led me to learn 11 of life's important lessons.
Here is the incident as it unfolded.

lpop.jpg

Years back as a kid I was traveling with my parents.
As tourists we were roaming the streets of a new city and exploring it.
I.
We came across a candy shop and I got really excited. The shop had all kind of candies and lollipops.
A bright colored big lollipop caught my fancy and I would not move on until I got it.

candy-shop-front-hiu.jpg

Lesson of life for a 5 year old me- A lollipop was an opportunity of a sweet treat not to be missed.
However looking back at the incident as an adult

1u.jpg

II.

My mom suggested that I take a smaller lollipop as it was too big for me but I was adamant. So she relented and got me that huge lollipop.
2u1.jpg

III.

However my sister opted for a much smaller one instead. My mom felt that since my sister had opted for a much smaller one she should get two.

3u1.jpg

IV.

My lollipop was really big and beautiful wrapped in an attractive wrapping.
So I could not put it away in my pocked. So I moved around the whole day holding my prized possession.

4u1.jpg

V.

At night when we reached our hotel I decided to unwrap it and devour it. My mom told me to eat it the next morning however I was intent on eating it then and there.
5u1.jpg

VI.

The moment I unwrapped it a fruity smell filled the entire room I was intending to eat the whole lollipop but my mom told me it was too big for me and I should share half of it with my sister.
6u1.jpg
VII.

Reluctantly I broke a small part of it and gave it to my sister. I myself started licking the bigger chunk of the lollipop. It felt so good in taste and the best part was it seemed it would never get over.
7u1.jpg

VIII.

Since I was only a little boy I was tired after the city tour and soon fell asleep holding my lollipop
In the morning when I woke up the lollipop was gone. I wondered what had happened to the lollipop?

My mom told me that as I fell asleep my lollipop slipped on to the carpet and became dirty. As it was no longer fit for consumption it had to be thrown away.
8u1.jpg

IX. & X.

This made me sad, We were leaving for the airport and there was no way I could go back to that shop and get another lollipop.

I dragged myself in to the cab and then boarded the plane. I was sad as I had lost my most prized possession.

Then something very unexpected happened. My sister who was sitting next to me pulled out the 2 lollipops and offered me one.
9u1.jpg
It is very importantly to remember that

10u1.jpg

XI.

Looking at the lollipop my eyes lit up I opened it and started licking it. It tasted just like my lollipop and I kept licking it it only the plastic stick was left.
11u1.jpg
It may appear a simple incident in the life of a young boy but looking back it gave me some of life's most important lessons.

Hope you enjoyed this post of mine folks. Do comment, share and upvote if you want to read more such posts from me.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit

Welcome to steem

Welcome to Steem @alz190 I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thanks for getting me started

words full of wisdom :) we can learn from anything

Congratulations @alz190! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit ! happy to have you here. Followed. Follow me back 😘

welcome to Steemit @Alz190! Glad to see more people like you - here joining Steemit! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me !

Thanks for the follow

Congratulations @alz190! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @alz190! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @alz190! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48