Things vs. Memories: Getting a Little Philosophical

in #philosophy6 years ago


Hey y'all,

Just wanted to share a little insight into a recent story I read I thought it was quite interesting and thought provoking so I wanted to share it!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Greetings, dear Miss Lydia

I feel upset that I can not understand everything you say, but I say that in my house there are some things that I never use and need to throw away. They are neither related to her decoration, but, things I'm lazy to pick up and throw away. They are "bogged down".

Thank you and good morning!

Yes I know the feeling. But I try to get rid of old things, I have a rule that if i don't use it for 6 months I get rid of it. :)

After listening to you, I really need to convince myself to declutter my home a little bit. Excellent video, @alphasteem! Thanks for sharing! :-)

haha...You will feel a lot better if you do, I know I can't relax until everything is clean/decluttered. :)

Hahahahaha @alphasteem you nailed the story of my life!! Especially now that we moved, I came across of so many stuff that we have a sentimental connection. We have been so much more minimalistic, but I can tell you, that changed completely since we have kids. Minimalism is OVER!!!! hahahaha all these first drawings and things our son crafted in the kindergarten, we can't get rid of them! That makes moving houses even more complicated! Thanks for sharing your thoughts, have a wonderful day! Greetings from Barcelona

haha...I know it seems to be the story of everyone's life in one way or another. I can imagine that it's way harder with children lol. Trying to get rid of their crafts surely isn't easy haha. I guess you just have to find the right balance that works for you.

My mum is a Hoarder and I tried to change her so many times and only recently I realized that if someone is happy to be Hoarder then I should never change them. Some people love Things over Memories..It's strange but everyone is different.

As you know that I'm extreme minimalist and I'm happy that way.. My point is that Minimalism is not for everyone.

Now my partner is not a minimalist and I don't force her to be one.

Anyway I know at least for me that I love having freedom and minimalism process helped me to have more freedom.

simplicity-quotes-less-stuff-means-more-wisdom-maxime-lagace-wisdom-quotes.jpg

I guess your right, you can't change people and shouldn't try if they are happy, but I think in some cases people may need a little push I'm sure if she got rid of some stuff she would be happier but yes that life is not for everyone. I like to live minimal but I am not extreme by any means I just like to live a comfortable life also so finding the balance is the part I'm working on now :)
Thanks for stopping by Nathan.

I have this great memory of a Mene cake

Too sentimental! We need something better :-)

Too late. I’m crying

Memories can really suck....

No doubt...but in everything there is hope. If someone hurt you, healing starts with forgiveness.

I think a good way to preserve is to Interview your grandparents about certain things Like

  • how did you Experience 911 or the cold war?
  • how was your first time in europe?
  • where did your ancestors came from?
  • did you go to woodstock etc

Technological to tape and Store is so cheap nowadays.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah that's right, I did do that while I still had the time and those are some of the most interesting stories i've ever heard too. Thanks Felix :)

haha...yes but its about finding the balance between what you really like and what you really need, somewhere in between there is where I find some peace.

While watching this video i was in my memories ❤ wonderful video, very beautiful concept and love your style. great work alpha.

Thank you ykdesign <3<3

With regards to photos, we keep them electronically online, and then if you ever need to reprint them, you can always send them off for a print. I do try to focus on being present to capture those memories, but it's strange how many times I like to go back and watch old videos of things we have done. Not to mention with online storage, I see it almost as a way to pass on a visual diary to my kids, grandkids, etc. But as I say....I'm a work in progress :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64401.36
ETH 2627.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83