You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Elon Musk Is Trying To Create A New Reality, And Why You Are Too

in #philosophy8 years ago

久しぶり、二週間かな。Anyways, I've read/watched some stuff that you are talking about pertaining to Musk's views on the chances of living in a simulation. While the logic makes sense, I do not believe we are a simulation. Although even if we were, might I come to the same conclusion? For the same reason I believe I can live much longer than the average human life-span, I choose to engage in behaviors that will lead to such an outcome. And same with the question of living in a simulation, "The Matrix" film definitely brought this concept mainstream. But I still choose to believe only what I can prove is true to a comfortable extent. So whether we, or I, live in a simulation, is almost irrelevant, because I will still try to make the best possible choices in any given circumstance. So what does that mean...?... still trying to figure that out...

Sort:  

actually, I think that I do not want to believe we are living in a simulation... at least I know that for myself.

Hey, thanks for taking the time to read my stuff.

I don't take sides on this issue. This whole post was simply my thoughts on "if" we are living in a simulation.

According to neuroscience, every individual person is living in a simulation in their own brain. This means that none of our conscious experience is of the external world as it really is. We only have our individual interpretations, coming into our brains from our sense organs. So this idea of a simulation I basically agree with.

But the idea that most proponents push is that we are being simulated by some advanced beings. I can't say it's not true, but it seems just as likely to me that we aren't. If life comes into being in the universe so many times that it's inevitable that there are advanced civilizations doing advanced simulations, then there should also be countless civilizations that haven't reached that stage. What actual evidence do we have about the likelihood of either?

And then there's the problem of the existence of conscious experience. I mean, the physical stuff could be a simulation, and according to quantum physics the physical world is computed by quantum particles themselves. But any particle we observe requires consciousness to observe it, so it seems to me that conscious experience can't be simulated. It would have to exist prior to any simulation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.32
ETH 2914.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62