You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is the value of a human life? Are we really all equal?

in #philosophy6 years ago

Basically, all lives are equal beyond any measure. The examples you stated here are very specific and define only human preferences in very specific situations, lets say you are in a war you are going to defend your mates even if they are criminals and not bringing any use to others while you would attack your enemies even if they lovely and useful and being joy to their families. This example is specific also.

Another point I would like to outline, the value of a human life shouldn’t depend on how much joy it brings to others, because it implies selfishness and utilitarianism.

Sort:  

Thank you for the thoughtful comment, @alignment. I agree with you that the second - "individual" point of view is rather selfish.

That said, my personal "goal" in life is to live happily (enjoy life) as much as I can and help others to live happily (enjoy life) as much as I can. Following that philosophy (I'm not claiming that it's the only one or the right one), if I had to value my life, I would do it by thinking about how much joy can I bring to myself and others.

You are welcome dear friend🙂,

I belive that one of the most needed concepts today is the equality of human lives, regardless of any other considerations. It has the potential to bring us more peace.

I fully agree with you that all human lives should be regarded as equal - but it's too hard for me not to philosophize about controversial issues! : D

We are all equal, humans assign value not nature...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.33
ETH 2982.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74