You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm a tenured philosophy professor

in #philosophy8 years ago

Since you are a philosopher, and since you are open to questions, let me ask this:

What is your greatest philosophic achievement? Has your mind ever "produced" something that the world should know about, or that the world heard but has underappreciated it?

It's a difficult question obviously because most things have already been said or discovered... being a pioneer of thought is not easy. If however there is something that can be distilled by one's life wisdom and that can improve my own life, I would gladly take it under consideration...

Sort:  

This is a great question - and I appreciate how respectfully you asked it! (The more typical, blunt variation is "what's the point of philosophy, anyway?!") I was going to respond here, but started to think of more I wanted to say, and it's looking like it should be a post of its own. And if I start posting fairly regularly (as I'd have to say I'm feeling encouraged to do!), this is a really good one to do early on.

Assuming I do write this up, I would like to credit you for prompting it @alexgr - ideally with tangible credit in the form of some steem power or something. Is there an (official or unofficial) way to do that on Steemit? If not, then in the worst case I guess I could just transfer some percentage of any of my earnings to you. What strikes folks as fair for this kind of thing? I welcome suggestions here.

I should add that working against my Steemit productivity is my recent venture into parenthood - I have a 2-year-old and a 2-month-old, and so it's fair to say my time is not completely my own these days. On the other hand, working in favor of my Steemit productivity is that it's a very fun way to procrastinate on some tedious committee work I need to do.

If it makes a good profit (that's a big if - because articles in general can be buried - introductions are easier to spot), you can "tip" whatever you want, no problem. But since it'll be your ideas you really deserve everything... I'll profit anyway by whatever is contained in your distilled wisdom.

Ah I did not know that "intro" posts get so much more attention. Maybe I'm a budding steemit curmudgeon, but intro posts (including mine) actually seem to have less content of interest to other readers on average ...

Anyway that tempers my enthusiasm some, but as I say it's fun anyway, so I'll try to write it up - and if if if any steem comes of, it I'll pass some your way!

As you predicted, @alexgr, my post attracted a whole lot of inattention. You get 10% of my $0.00!

Even I didn't notice it. I haven't yet figured out how to get notifications out of the @nicknametags....

Very good points you wrote here as a tenured philosophy professor. I think you’ve made some truly interesting points here. Keep up the good work.
Regards,
Looking for essay writing services? Come at Secure Assignment Help in Australia.

You have an awe-inspiring personality and surprise to know about your fancy academic pedigree. Much appreciate you for sharing an excellent post with us.
Regards,
https://www.cvfolks.co.uk/

I am very lucky as I got a chance to meet here philosophy professor, paid to research and teach philosophy. It’s great to know about your proficiency in tackling narrow, specific sub-questions seeking literal truth with rigorous arguments.
Alex,
https://www.qualityassignment.co.uk/

Valuable post. It’s my first visit of this website and glad to read in-depth details. Best job is best done by you. This post is also like by my students whom I am serving best cover letter writing service at Resume Folks. Thus, I would like to forward this post to them. Keep it up. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60860.94
ETH 2672.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62