You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In defence of meat: Reflections on society, ethics, experience, and current scientific knowledge – Part II

in #philosophy8 years ago

Thanks for pointing that out, @stevescoins. I was unaware that Bentham didn't focus on animals, since I've always heard his ideas referenced in regards to animal rights. I appreciate the clarification and correction, and would love to read any additional information and thoughts you might have on the matter. Please do link your post in the comments when you write it up!

I agree with your statement on the equation of animal and human life - animals are sentient beings, but that leaves us with a responsibility to minimize suffering and treat them well, not an obligation to treat them like a human being and award them the exact same rights as people.

Sort:  

You have that last point exactly right. I can't say definitely that he didn't say anything about animals, but I expect that his position is very similar to what you just said.

I'll make that post manana since it's a bug in my ear now, and I'd like to know for sure myself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64074.25
ETH 3195.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62