You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Conversation About "Waking People Up". Is It Our Responsibility? Is Selfishness Altruistic? What Do You Think?

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

I'm interested, have you ever tried any psychedelic, or mind altering plants?

Nope! ... I would have liked to, in the past. But now, because I've had panic attacks before, and because I'm sometimes in a depressive mood, I'm afraid to try those substances! I'm worried they might alter my brain chemistry permanently, in a bad way.

I guess maybe part of the reason relates to what James Randi describes here.

Sort:  

Hahaha, he keeps using this word "real" he even said "actually real" as if there is another level of realness to real... Not my cup of tea ;) This term real doesn't exist.

Fyi science says try mushrooms to cure depression. The point of psychedelics and plant medicine is to alter your brain and body chemistry! I'm surprised you having mentioned terrence mckenna. Have you read much of his work?

Haven't read anything, just watched a lot of youtube videos, and I LOVE how grounded the guy is, despite all his experiments, how very eloquent he is, how he expresses himself and how he uses the language to make strange experiences more palpable for the rest of us. We need more people like him. He wasn't just a mambo-jumbo guy like many of his cohorts seem to be.

Some of his books are on my amazon wish list! :P

I love his writing, it's wonderful! Caution, if you read too much by him you may be encouraged to explore the realms of plant medicine and accidentally heal yourself ;)

I highly recommend it!! Also, a lot of his work is public domain :) Food of the Gods

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68289.77
ETH 2645.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70