You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Am Therefore I Harm

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

Thanks! Will check out your page as well later.

I do distinguish between harming mammals and bacteria however.

True. Buddhists (and other religions) don't though. They actually thought it was possible to live without harming any other creature. It wouldn't be possible to achieve Nirvana otherwise. When it rains a lot, some Buddhist sects avoid walking outside because they can't see if they're stepping onto some creature.

If you haven't already, see this article by @kyriacos regarding the impossibility of being a vegetarian.

I understand people who are vegans and vegetarians might do it for a lot of reasons, and many might be aware that their lifestyle still harms mammals, but may choose to do it as little as possible, which also qualifies as an -ism.

I worry that this non-harming trend will soon begin to involve plants, to which some now attribute consciousness!

I wanted to make the article intelligible so I didn't go into modal claims ('possible worlds'), whereby it becomes logically inescapable that holding any value means you are being harmful toward some creature, conscious or not.

Agreed on the mosquitoes! :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64867.61
ETH 3451.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55