You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is it possible to be a nihilist? (Part 1 of 'The Meaning of Life' series)

Frankly, I'll be honest, the idea does not make much sense to me, considering how the world is! I just don't see any way it would work. Also, even though your intentions are good, this still feels like preaching: the kids might prefer playing pokemon on their smartphone rather than debating philosophy.

I had the passion for philosophy from a young age, and I witnessed how people around me cared for anything but. I tried discussing it with whoever would listen. That's just not how the world is. People care about money, women (or men), cars, fun, etc. Few care about intellectual affairs.

There's lots of chatrooms and people will coalesce according to each person's interest. Some will play video games all day and talk in forums about that, and others will debate philosophy like I did before social sites even existed, via yahoo groups, basically via email!

I think today the way to get people interested in matters of knowledge is through the media. Shows like Family Guy or Southpark, though camouflaged as irreverent and sometimes stupid, are in fact very intelligent and filled with let's say "agendas": they are basically liberal and atheist and pro-science etc. Think also of Bill Maher and Ricky Gervais and others. What they all have in common is that they are educated, and they try to impart truths via the medium of, well, the media! This is the future, I think. More philosophers should try and become like Carl Sagan, rather than lock themselves in their Ivory Towers and preach to the choir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57882.05
ETH 2579.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35