You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is it possible to be a nihilist? (Part 1 of 'The Meaning of Life' series)

Time to reply to this one now! Sorry for the delay.

I enjoy reading philosophy and even arguing about ethics, in a lighter vein (even when I'm feeling serious about the argument), but I also love to play with ideas and thoughts.

Very nice!

Quote:

You can use a pointy bracket pointing to the right ("greater than"), followed by a space, followed by the quote, to make that very cool thing I did right there! :P

I'm so stupid I don't remember what those brackets are called!

I hope my comment was not too silly ( lol, be careful, if you answer, no, it might give value to my continuing in this vein in your next posts).

Pls do! We all enjoy it when our work is read and thoughtfully commented on. My ideas will make more sense as you read on.

Sort:  

Placing a comment here, at a post made months ago, hopefully means I will not interfere by discussing something slightly personal - not in line with the topic.

Last year I had reasons to feel positive about a business deal going through. It would be taking care of all my needs and I could then help family here and in Greece, with income left over. Being elderly, my needs are few.

At this time I came up with an idea I loved (those are the worst ideas, because it is difficult to be objective about them - and I usually end up making a fool of myself).

I had downloaded some university course on philosophy (ancient Greek) and was surprised to find that what I could not understand when I was young, made more sense to me now. As I've mentioned, I think I mostly enjoyed following the intricate threads of arguments which at the start did not look reasonable.

Because of me writing about Cherine, I had to deal with Samantha, who loves sitting amongst alien scientists and coming up with crazy ideas which they are too polite to ridicule. When their younger members examine and experiment with her ideas, most of the times they find she has opened them to new ideas that boost their growth of knowledge and scintific abilities. It reaches the point where, if she should claim the moon is made of cheese, they will first examine the moon before telling her she is wrong.

Having to deal with alien species, who have their own ways of seeing life, through their own aspects of philosophy and ethics, some of which I would enjoy copying and pasting for you to read and comment on - but, to stay on topic. Samantha and Robert, often moan about the fact that schools no longer teach ethics or philosophy. Also, what they do teach is tailored to serve the interests of the globalists and their de-population agenda. An easy example? To destroy the family unit, as it strengthens us, they pose this question and answer:

There is danger and out of five people you can save, you can either save your son or four strangers What is the ethical answer? Of course, according too their teachings, it is more ethical to save the strangers, even if there are only two of them but five of your family members. To me, this is twisted and ugly. My family ALWAYS come first, and then my friends (in some cases they are a pretty close tie).

What was argued in the books by Sam, I started to consider with regard to our reality and decided to create a new business.

It would be a coffee shop, with healthy but cheap meals for the young (down to eight years old at certain hours). It would be connected to branches in Athens, London, USA, Japan and we see where else, later on. They are connected through the web cameras and philosophy and ethics are argued by the young. Older people, such a teachers or philosophers, may guide, but must not lead. The young must learn from us, but we too may learn new ways of thinking if we are open to new ideas.

Business went kaput, so I've given up the idea. Maybe a chat site for young people to discuss these subjects would work? I don't know. Does the idea make sense to you?

Frankly, I'll be honest, the idea does not make much sense to me, considering how the world is! I just don't see any way it would work. Also, even though your intentions are good, this still feels like preaching: the kids might prefer playing pokemon on their smartphone rather than debating philosophy.

I had the passion for philosophy from a young age, and I witnessed how people around me cared for anything but. I tried discussing it with whoever would listen. That's just not how the world is. People care about money, women (or men), cars, fun, etc. Few care about intellectual affairs.

There's lots of chatrooms and people will coalesce according to each person's interest. Some will play video games all day and talk in forums about that, and others will debate philosophy like I did before social sites even existed, via yahoo groups, basically via email!

I think today the way to get people interested in matters of knowledge is through the media. Shows like Family Guy or Southpark, though camouflaged as irreverent and sometimes stupid, are in fact very intelligent and filled with let's say "agendas": they are basically liberal and atheist and pro-science etc. Think also of Bill Maher and Ricky Gervais and others. What they all have in common is that they are educated, and they try to impart truths via the medium of, well, the media! This is the future, I think. More philosophers should try and become like Carl Sagan, rather than lock themselves in their Ivory Towers and preach to the choir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51