Aleksa's Book Review: Rene Girard's Memetic Theory

A heavily academic explanation of Girard's theories that are better found elsewhere is the quickest way to put it. There's little wrong with the book, but to be quite honest it seems to be retreading the same ground other books on the subject have undertaken.

The philosophy of Girard should be clear by now to the four people reading my reviews, so I shan't dwell on it too long. This book does not do a good job of explaining it, but rather goes in circles about various academic gobbledegook that I had no interest in.

There are interesting stories and thought experiments throughout the book that make it worth noting, such as those regarding Vedic rituals in ancient India, but hardly enough to separate it from the academic grey goo I find myself in. Lukewarm at best and irritatingly long, I don't recommend reading this.
2/10

Sort:  

The philosophy of Girard should be clear by now to the four people reading my reviews

Hahaha. I know it can be frustrating in the beginning. But trust me, it gets better.

This is the first post I have read from your blog. So the counter is increased to 5 I guess :)

Thanks for the review too btw!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.50
ETH 2910.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59