You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Black Magic and Magickal Ethics [Dabbing with a Mage episode 117]

in #philosophy6 years ago

I am unfamiliar with his work; however, I would have to disagree on his view.

For myself personally, I have physically experienced solipsism and it showed me I was in control of my reality. I am unsure how an individual who believes their mind is the only true mind, even questioning their own existence, can lead to an individual who is easily manipulated. Would you care to expound?

Sort:  

If truth is objective then it is advantageous to know what is true, and one who believes that truth is subjective forfeits that advantage. A power differential is created, and those willing to harm others for their own gain will target the vulnerable solipsists (which is most people).

The specific methodologies used is too big of a topic to discuss here, for there are many and they are complex. I recommend checking out Mark Passio's work to learn more. His first episode discusses solipsism:
http://www.whatonearthishappening.com/podcast?start=150

The power differential is the core of the answer to your question.

But if there were no Truth and only truth existed then the objectivist would be at a disadvantage. Dogma is a tool used widely to control those who submit to objective Truth.

Does the second part of your first sentence say what you meant it to say?

I don't think it's true to say in a purely subjective world that one would be at a disadvantage to believe there were objective truth. It would depend on what was believed and by how many.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60078.84
ETH 3197.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45