You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Free Will: Intention interrupts our deterministic reactive nature (PII)

in #philosophy7 years ago

Have you defined what you mean by free will at all? I only read this article, not your previous ones, but the 'sense of control over what you're doing' as opposed to the unconscious, routine behaviors and emotions is a very specific idea of free will.

Your article seems to be arguing that 'freedom' is to 'feel like you're in control of what you're doing.'

Do you believe that, regardless of the feeling of control, awareness, redirection, whatever - that this could be predicted if you knew all the positions of atoms in the universe? Do you believe there is something fundamentally 'other', nonmaterialistic, soul-like, or uncaused, about free will?

Sort:  

My first article defines free will. Whether it is a good definition or not is another story though lol. Its open for discussion and argument - for sure.

hmm. Prediction is a challenging concept. Prediction is a whole other thing that is beyond my knowledge. I'm not a philosopher but I believe that something can be determined but not predicted.

I personally do NOT believe that one could predict thoughts or behavior based on the position of the atoms in the universe. I guess I do believe that there is something more "non-materialistic" about us. Something like a consciousness that flows through the universe and relates to the particles. Like quantum waves collapsing into particle reality. That probably sounds weird and the thought is not fully developed so it probably doesn't make a lot of sense either. I'll have to think about it a bit more.

What are your thoughts on the subject. I'm interested to hear your opinion

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61116.15
ETH 2413.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62