You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You Happy?

in #philosophy6 years ago

I am not sure if I am happy but I am content. I think being content matters more than being happy. We all have moments in our lives in which we are happy and those in which we are sad, these I feel are mostly defined by the activities of others around us (or at least we tie them to that) and are episodic. I did not get the job I wanted therefor I am sad. I am in love today I am happy. Being content is deeper, it is knowing who you are and where you want to be in life, and being ok with being where you are now, working to get where you want to go and loving and serving others. Competition is part of human nature but we can never get to contentment if we are always striving to be better than others.

Sort:  

@adletuli I see you, thank you for your insight.

Being content is a great way to find inner peace. I personally believe it is all about letting go of one's ego.

I totally agree that to find inner peace you need to let go of your ego. Trying to fulfill the needs of the ego is what leads to discontentment and thus unhappiness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66524.25
ETH 3616.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81