You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why does it matter? - Thoughts on DNA testing

in #philosophy5 years ago

I understand and somewhat agree with yoru general point

but

Actually I find her reaction perfectly normal. She looks African. If she were to walk down the streets in Nigeria or Senegal, she'd look exactly within the spectrum of the people there. It's natural for her to assume she's African- its what her mirror tells her. I don't think she wants to identify with "victimhood" in any way. - That's just how I perceive it though, I don't know what's in her heart.

I think most black people in America have some other "ethnicity" in them anyway. The only reason why she's been traced to a European lineage is because it's her maternal line. So the rest of her family can ALL be "African" - so she could be 99.99% African, and have just that one white ancestor line.

If you think about it, going by 4 generations per 100 years (minimum), 500 years ago, was 20 generations ago. Our ancestors double in number per generation, so that's 2 parents, 4 grandparents, 8 great grand parents and ... by 20 generations that's 4,194,304 ancestors!! FOUR MILLION!! That's how many people contributed to your bloodline.

I think in this specific case, she says it's 5 generations back, so at least 1 of 32 ancestors
was white, but she just happened to be her mothers, mothers, mothers, mother. The other 31 could well have all been black ... or anything else.

Unless your ancestors lived isolated for millennia (like in Australia), or there's been a genocide of your people, then by 1 thousand years, you're pretty much related to everyone on your continent - black, white or yellow.

Consider that, you and I could be related by then, even if we look completely different.

This is why this whole DNA testing thing is total BS in my opinion anyway haha.

Sort:  

Bingo my friend, hence why the focus on this thing is energy being misplaced.

I for one don't care about my genetical composition that much.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59060.44
ETH 2608.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43