You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Response to @baerdric: There Can Be No Good

in #philosophy8 years ago

Fortunately I am not trying to refute your premise ;) Rather, I am attempting to show that bad is as illusory as good. I see your perspective that harm is measurable in the sense of you can correlate some level of pain and/or suffering whether or not there is a long term net of increased harm.

I would say, what is the difference in harm as a measure of pain/disturbance that increases and decreases (more or less bad) VS benefit as a measure of pleasure/satisfaction that increases and decreases (more or less good).

For example: I could give someone a hug which brings an increase in feelings of contentedness and joy that has nothing to do with fending off harm (here's your love example!). I could say kind words to a stranger to increase their enjoyment of their day. I could mentor someone in a field I have mastered for no other reason than to increase their actualization.

Again, this is not to say Good is more real than Bad. rather, they are equally slippery concepts that exist in a practical sense for our day to day lives but do not correlate to anything concretely real.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61180.86
ETH 2456.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57