Is it ethical to use AI for steemit content creation?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #philosophy7 years ago

I have been spending the past few weeks learning about machine learning and creating neural networks. I still have a long way to go, but I am already imagining potentially powerful AI systems I could create, even with my limited knowledge. I have a few projects in mind, and at least one involving steemit. What I am starting to wonder is...

Is it ok to use AI (bots) to create content?

I don't mean this in the "is it fair" sense. If someone creates quality content, and that someone happens to be an AI, I don't really care.... except, that it's really cool.

What I worry about...

is whether AI produced content leads us further down the click-bate rabbit-hole. All an AI content producer would care about is whether people view an article or if they rate it highly. If they like it. Goals like aesthetic value, quality (I read Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance and still can't tell you what that word means), or advancement of the human species would not factor into the equation. That is not a figure of speech, we're literally talking about equations creating content. There is nothing wrong with these kinds of equations inherently, but we have to be careful with what we ask them to do.

So can a bot create, or help create, meaningful content?

I am talking about not just quality and up votes, but content that has a real value? Conversely, how can we stop AI content from dictating human culture based on our current mode of economics and modernism? I don't have an answer or an argument here... yet... but maybe one of you steemians does?

Sort:  

I would be interested in seeing AI created content as an experiment.

I would say that to be "ethical" you should disclose up front in each post "The following was created by an artificial intelligence"

If the content is upvote worthy, it should get upvoted, just like human posts. If the content violates TOS it should be flagged, just like human posts.

Many companies have tried to implement AIs that produce interactive content. One of the biggest problems with the "learning" engines is that they can be "taught" to respond to whatever is popular ... some have even become overly sexualized teen-bots in a matter of weeks.

I see no issue with it, to be honest, many news outlets already use software to write articles about sports and product reviews because they're such cookie cutter types of articles.

So are you saying it's not possible for the AI to create content, or it's not possible to prevent AI from taking over content creation? I would say the former is definitely possible, not sure about the later...

AI opens a very large door. I fear that if it becomes too advanced, it's possible that they will succeed humanity. A year from today, maybe 50 years from today? Probably not. But eventually...

this statement cannot be proved

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97