Hello. Hallo. Привет. A bit ironic to write this from Austria...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #philly7 years ago

Hi, I'm David (apparently, I love attention and being different, so I pronounce it Dah-vEEd).

Steem.JPG

Before going on and on about myself (which I can do for hours days), a promise and a request: I'm here to contribute to a vibrant, nurturing community of content creators, curators, and consumers - please hold me to that if I ever start pushing something or going at it for the money. I do love how Steemit allows us to reward each other's meaningful contributions with influence points and money (that's awesome in so many ways). Just want to be true to the community. Yes, I'm a writer for money (marketer), and apparently pretty good - but, thankfully, my rankings on other sites means nothing here and I can just write to contribute, not to sell.

So, me. Usually I'm based in Philly, where I grew up, and where wound up yet again by accident, necessity, and choice - only to fall in love with it so much as to own it... in a way (more on that later), becoming the creator of http://www.alwaysmoretophilly.com - a way to connect the local creative community with an engaged audience (starting with a weekly email newsletter of curated events and going from there. Why? Because as a comedian, musician, and events organizer, I saw the pain. Inviting your Facebook events doesn't work. And as a Philly-delphian, I was so bored and then so chocked to discover that there was so much happening in my city but I had no idea.

I'm really into crypto and the blockchain (duh, everyone is) both as an investor (made and - very quickly - lost a small fortune in biotech stocks) and just someone who believes many industries (and society in general) are long overdue for a major disruption. I'm not a techie, but I'm learning what I can. I noticed that many YouTubers and other "experts" in crypto is either pushing ponzis like BitConnect (I'm in it too for $100 just for fun, but c'mon, it's a ponzi and will soon burst) or are very technical (either technical analysis or programmers - both of which is awesome btw). So I want to write (maybe make videos too?) in a way that is useful and knowledgeable but also human and not too salesy (aka, I'll try to use the best of my writing, analytical, and research skills while telling my "marketing genius" to sit down and be humble).

Right now I'm traveling and do that regularly, despite two chronic conditions, one of which - Ulcerative Colitis - really sucks but no longer works as an excuse to keep myself down. Actually, I turned it into an IG account (https://www.instagram.com/colitistravel/) full of bathroom pics and tips as help and inspiration for fellow Crohn's & Colitis travelers (lesson #1: my good ol' home US of A is the worst for letting you just use a bathroom - so upset).

Ok, so here's the irony. I'm Jewish. I'm in Austria right now on my first ever Eurotrip visiting an awesome friend I met through airbnb. Putting aside the irony of being born in Europe (USSR) but never visiting it outside of the USSR, the big irony is that today is the anniversary of Kristallnacht - the huge pogrom that served as the definitive sign to Jews in Nazi Germany to GTFO. Unfortunately too many didn't, with ultimately 6 million being murdered in the biggest and worst human catastrophe in history (imho; I don't want to compare genocides, all murder sucks). Anyway, it's Friday night (Shabbat Shalom, y'all), and I'm wearing my Jew socks. In Austria. On this date. Can't think of a bigger Fuck You.

Sock.JPG

On a personal level, my whole travel is a fuck you to colitis and other shit in life (we all have our own). And my interest in crypto is a big fuck you to the 9-5 work system (I long left it anyway, freelancing and loving it), traditional power of governments, entrenched industries, and much more of "things were always done this way; just be normal like everybody."

PunkRed.jpg

I love people who dare to be different. I love crazy dreamers who actually make those dreams a reality (yes, Elon Musk is my hero). I'm even writing a book on new trophies (more on that muuuuch later). And I totally forgot the most important thing: I love bridraggingeople together, like for dinners that I host with old and new friends.

Ok, this is seriously draggin on, so let me just add a few social media profiles since apparently that's important here and tell you how so very fucking excited I am to be here. From the moment I watched the interview of Dan Larimer and Ned Scott on the Anarchast, I knew that this is a community for me. Hope I make worthy contributions. Starting right now.

https://www.facebook.com/david.kieve
https://soundcloud.com/david-kieve
https://www.linkedin.com/in/dkieve/

Sort:  

Congratulations @dkieve! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Keep going and add me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58418.48
ETH 2515.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36