Street Games - Sipa

in #philippines7 years ago

Let me tell you about one of our traditional street games here in our country. This game is called Sipa (To Kick). This game has been inherited from the Spaniards during the colonial era. A game which was played on the streets by kids when video games was still non existent. Kids went out under the heat of the sun just to play with friends and have some fun.


1.JPG

The Sipa is made from lead washers used on roofs to allow the nails to hold the roof. Straw or cloth sometimes is used to cover the washer.

2.JPG

3.JPG

The game can be played by multiple players and the object of the game is to prevent it from hitting the ground. The foot is used to kick the Sipa and the player who kicks the most wins.

Though if you are a beginner you could use your hands to keep it on air.

4.JPG

There are other variants of the game in which you use your hands first for a number of hits. Then once you have completed the number you would then use your feet.

5.JPG

As it is kicked there is an option for the opponent to catch it. If he does it would be his turn to play. It would depend on the player which rules would be used in playing prior to the start of the game.

6.JPG

7.JPG

There is another variant of this game which is called Sepak where a rattan ball is used instead. Played indoors and is a sport here in our country and other Asian counties as well.

8.JPG

In this scenario it is the turn of player one but is captured by foot by the opponent. This in turn will be his chance to gather points until he wears down and drops it on the ground.

9.JPG

10.JPG

11.JPG

12.JPG

This maneuver is called Black Magic which requires agility by kicking it from the bottom of your foot crossing the legs from behind.

13.JPG

This game has still survived even though a lot of kids are stuck already on mobile games. My son told me that kids still play this game at his school during break times.

14.JPG

My son and his cousin had fun demonstrating the game for us. I was never an expert in this game but I'm pretty surprised that my kid can play the game well. If ever I played with him I probably would not win.

15.JPG

16.JPG

Here is my son in black along with his cousin happy that they were able to share this interesting street game for us.

Hope you enjoyed our traditional street game if you have some washers and a little straw. Go ahead and make your Sipa and see if how many kicks you could make.

Thanks for dropping by. Cheers Steemians!

17.JPG


Please vote @steemgigs as witness and help support @surpassinggoogle

Also thanks to @bayanihan where the impossible becomes possible thru unity.

with Lumix GX85 and 12-32 mm

Snake new.jpg

Sort:  

Looks as an enjoyable game which brings me back to my childhood. I didn't know of this game but it was always nice to play outside!

It was nice to play outside back in the days. Something kids don't do much anymore these days.

I was good at this when I was a kid. I can recall the dirty feet!!! hahahaha

Wow. I used to play this game when i was a kid. Nice 😊

Brings back memories 😊

looks like fun :D sure good for joints and flexibilety :D, great pics, well framed :D

Thank you. I still have a lot to learn no other choice but to shoot every single day. I greatly appreciate your feedback. 😊

Your so welcome :D Yeah learing is stunning , you keeep at it :D 🐉💗

if you know know this game, then you should know the "black magic" move.

That I could not perform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59508.12
ETH 2603.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39