The Educational Differences between a Public School and a Private School

in #philippines6 years ago

The Educational Differences between a Public School and a Private School

I am studying in a private school in a rural area. It is the only private school in our barangay (barangay is small administrative division in the Philippines). Most of the schools that you find around our house are public schools. I have my neighborhood friends who study in these schools. They wear simple uniforms- a substandard polo and a blue pants. They does not have books for each of them but the school provide them a single book that should be returned to the school after use.

Philippines is a third world country. It is an archipelago separated by vast seas and designed of mountainous areas on its fertile plains. I watched some documentaries about how hard does public school children experience in their daily lives. I discovered that some of Filipinos need to cross the sea to reach an island with a school. There are public school children who need to climb a mountain, walk on a poorly built bridge, and face the dangerous rivers. The poor modernization on some areas on my country is slow due to some factors like corruption, graft, and lack of funds. Filipino children suffered starvation and lack of nutrients.

I observed my life. I can eat three times a day. I can buy whatever I want. I am from a private school and look at my friends. They face the dangers of the nature just to go into their schools. I am lucky that I am this.

I remembered that I have old books from my previous school years. I gave those to them. They said, the books state advanced lessons for them.

I had a friend who was in Grade 6 like me last year but he studied in a public school, so we did not know the lessons of each other.

I asked him: "What is your lesson for this year in Science?"

"About phases of matters," he answered.

"Not atoms? Molecules? Plasma?"

"What are those?" he asked.

I sighed and thought that maybe they would discuss about particles after few weeks. But it was already two months and our lesson in Science was focused now in Biology, so maybe they were talking about the things that I asked him last time we had met.

I asked him again: "Did you learned about atoms, molecules, and the wonderful phase of matter that is known as plasma?"

"No," he answered. "We are talking about human simple anatomy."

"Maybe you already learned about cells before that human simple anatomy,"

"No."

Hmmm...

I asked myself why. I was too young to analyze the difference of our knowledge. I searched about it in the internet.

The Educational Differences between a Public School and a Private School

According to different articles that you can see throughout the internet, private schools have required facilities for the development of a child unlike the government schools have minimum infrastructures. Also, private schools use computers and advanced technologies. They teach advanced lessons that are not required in a standard curriculum.

I asked my mother about the thing that was making me feel insane. She said, security is weak in some public schools that is why anonymous people can enter and influence the children.

I learned more in some magazines about the educational differences throughout the Philippines. There are also some big problems that the Philippine's education are facing like exposure of children to war, lack of will to study, and poverty that brings a child to work instead of studying.

Starting that day that I realized my country's problem, I did not ask my friend anymore about his lessons instead we just teach other what we have learned from our schools. And I believed in that way, I can contribute a little educational advancement.

Like what Nelson Mandela said:

Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world

Sort:  

mel @talentedkid add pictures of school to make it more effective and catchy.

I read it..galing!👏

Congratulations @talentedkid! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75