TV REVIEW: Netflix' Punisher

in #philippines7 years ago (edited)

Hey there Guys!

This is going to be the first time I will be writing a review for a TV Show, a Netflix TV show in 'The Punisher'.

WARNING: There may be spoilers included in this review, but I'll try to leave most of it out as much as possible.


It cannot be helped, that I would need to introduce the character to you. But I am pretty sure, if you have watched the 3 movies related to 'the Punisher' (I only watched 2004 version), you'd get the idea.

Introduction

The Punisher is a story of Frank Castle (Born Francis Castiglione), a US Marine whose family was killed leaving him behind as the sole survivor. He made it his personal mission to seek and destroy everyone responsible for the murder of his family. Upon doing so, he donned the symbol of death (simply skull - a cool one that is) on his armor.


Netflix Version

Netflix take on the Comic Vigilante starts with having cleaned each and everyone responsible for the murder of his family, so he thought. A retired Punisher (Portrayed by Jon Bernthal), pretended dead, changed his name to Pete Castiglione, he evaded so much of the present and supposedly not looking back despite continuously being haunted by the deaths of his family. But trouble just kept coming back, inviting the Punisher into the scene yet again.

On the first episode alone, you would already notice the fight scene, and the brutality that is due in the Punisher, you would expect that much for most of the episodes as well.

Netflix sweetened the whole story by having Frank involved with a conspiracy so deep that ran through the intelligence agencies. So if you could imagine Frank getting a whole lot of fights for all 13 episodes. It will have you on the edge of your seats when the fight starts.


The Review

Didn't I say, It will have you on the edge of your seats when the fight starts?

Just like how I enjoyed both John Wick movies, I really take interest in watching Close Quarter Combat(CQC). I really love how they execute disarming and how they portray the gore of shooting close range. Blood splatter everywhere, there is just carnage when the guns are being drawn. (I promise I am not a madman)

Netflix has had plenty of TV Series where it seemed that they really enjoy the art of blood splatting all over the place. They are not afraid to gore everyone out with showing large wounds, or large objects sticking out of a person after a fight. A whole lot of those things is present in this TV series, but they happen fast enough that it does not disgust you.

The story builds slowly, we are talking about 13 episodes, half of which is geared toward the introduction of characters and trying to find out how deep they are in the conspiracy. Despite the many fight scenes which I enjoy, there are also parts of the show where, it just seemed very slow. After all, the TV series simulates that of a Crime Investigation, albeit a 13 episode one. This maybe my only bad comment - as to how the characters are being portrayed? - Spot On.

They really showed Frank Castle's current psycho state, where he is being haunted by his family's death. How he balances his Rage vs his tactical approach to a situation. He remains in control of the situation even though he is already driven into madness. But though, there are times when you can say madness has already overrun the situation, he was clearly lucky (because he is the star of the show, LOL) to live from it.

Positive Points

  • Portrayal of CQC is amazing
  • Gets you off the edge of your seat during fights
  • The Conspiracy theory and twists in the story (Yes, expect that much)
  • Portrayal of Characters is amazing (Not limited to Frank)
  • The Rage and the Blood Splatter everywhere?!

Negative Points

  • The story starts out slow.
  • There were already maddening situations, I am unsure how Frank would've survived from.

Conclusion

I usually watch the show every time I come home from work approx. 5:15 in the Morning. I expect to be very sleepy when I get home after a long day. But the period where 'The Punisher' was my go to TV Series, this whole time, I never fell asleep watching the series, not once. Despite having mentioned slow story build up, they tend to make it as interesting incorporating YOU in the actual investigation. Words matter to that extent in this TV Series.

If you haven't watched the show, and you are into the whole 'Netflix and Chill' thing, you gotta watch 'The Punisher'. Most especially if you like action-thriller kinds of stuff, you will definitely enjoy the countless blood splatter.

So that would be it from me, I tried to keep it as short as I can, but sometimes I can't help my fingers. I hope that you guys enjoyed it as much as me. If you did please do leave me an UPVOTE and RESTEEM this post to share!

Please FOLLOW me, to stay tuned on the next one!

Have Fun watching The Punisher! Shote.Out!

Source 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Sort:  

nice @shote.said
I love you the actions

Thanks for having me! I really appreciate it!

Hey Shote! Did Daisy watch this with you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48