Popularity of Digital Currencies in the Philippines

in #philippines7 years ago

Like any other countries in the world, the Philippines is a growing economy. Most of its people knows how to use computer and do their day to day transaction online. Although I noticed one thing when I was there last year. The speed of the internet is not as fast as what we have in Northern Mariana Islands. Mobile signals are pretty difficult in some areas particularly the crowded one. Doing a mobile bank transaction take a bit longer than usual for me compare to the length of time I spent when i'm in Saipan. Mobile banking is definitely a convenience particularly when it comes to sending money to your love ones any where in the Philippines. 

Now that digital currencies are getting popular all over the world specially when bitcoin shares sky rocketed last week. Filipinos are starting to embrace the new innovation through coinbase.ph. I made an account myself but everytime I tried purchasing some bitcoins for my account it leads me to link that is not working at all. It will take me a 4 hours plane ride just to go there and purchase bitcoins from a nearby 7eleven convenient stores. 

I hope one day the internet speed in the Philippines becomes faster that 2.0 and 3.0.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55