You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend Walk along Ayala Avenue

in #philippines5 years ago

Starting in to my day @macoolette, I enjoyed reading this post. You did a nice job of detailing features of this city which were memorable to you, given you had some history with it.

This stood out to me ...

"He was the senator who publicly criticized former martial law President Ferdinand Marcos and coined that "The Filipino is worth dying for." He was assasinated at the run way of then Manila International Airport in 1983."

... simply because of the times in which we live. How many people today understand the times in which we live and, if necessary, are prepared to lay down their lives to change it? I can't speak for your culture and your country @macoolette, but here in America, the answer is very few ...

Well, I could write a post on this topic, but will stop before I get started.

Again, nice job on this post. I hope this finds you and yours doing well "over there!" 😊

Sort:  

Hi there @roleerob! How are you? It is good to "hear"from you again. I hope you're having a great weekend over there. 😊

How many people today understand the times in which we live and, if necessary, are prepared to lay down their lives to change it?

I can say not many. Maybe even none because I don't know anyone. (I guess that means including me when I don't know if I can do it.) Anyway again, I say not many because I have seen many examples when people tend to be more selfish than generous even those whom we thought are close to us.

I had good times and people were around me. I failed almost rock-bottom and all I hear was "I'm sorry for you." Others even just stare at me as if to say "that's your problem." The good thing is, there are few who stay. That still keeps my faith in humanity.

I just saw your anniversary post. I'll get back to it maybe when I'm done with the laundey. 😃 Either way, congratulations for a great year on the Steem platform!

Yes, life is challenging @macoolette. Very challenging ... I don't think it is a question of making mistakes and having problems. We all do. It is much more a matter of what we learn from these experiences. For the almost inevitable "next time" ...

"I'll get back to it maybe when I'm done with the laundey. 😃"

Yep, we can't escape "the real world," no matter how enticing that prospect may be. I am "heading out" shortly myself.

Until "next time," take care! 😊 👍


P.S. If and when you do chose to make the time, you will find yourself in my "Magnificent Eleven" list ... 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68