English Poetry: Old Love

in #philippines6 years ago

love-2303532__340.jpg

Pixabay

Old Love

"I'm walking down the street one night
Watching the beautiful patterns in the sky
I decided to close my eyes for a while
Feeling the cold breeze that hugging me tight."

"I feel someone's staring at me so I open my eyes
Then I saw you, a familiar and unwelcome figure invading my private space
I wanted to leave but my body won't obey me
I can't move it as if I'm glued."

"We stare at each other's eyes under the moonlight
No one dares to talk nor break the eye contact
I wanted to utter a word but nothing comes out of my mouth
I'm speechless and this deafening silence that we both share is killing me."

"Finally you said, "Hi! Its been a long time" with a smile
I was taken aback by your words and I wasn't able to respond
You just smile but I can feel it's a sad one
I wanted to give you a hug and comfort you but I can't."

"I can't because I'm not at the right place now to do that
I can't because I'm afraid this old feeling will be back
Its been a long time indeed but you haven't changed a single thing
My thoughts came back to reality when a finger snaps in front of me."

"You started to joke around one thing your really good at
Exerting effort to make the ambiance feel light
In just a span of time, we feel comfortable again in each others presence Talking and laughing about the things that transpired since the last time we're together."

"We don't even notice that the time flies so fast
Its past midnight when I checked my phone
You decided to walk me home and when we're at my house fronting the gate
You run away, waving your hands while shouting "Good night!."

"I just smile
The calmness that surrounds me bring peace internally
Wow, what a lovely night it is!"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58447.11
ETH 2624.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45