Winter Foods - Filipino

in #philippines7 years ago

Well here is OZ its currently winter, I think today's max was 14 degrees ... which is too cold for my liking. Now growing up in Australia and Philippines has given me a wide range of tastes in food. So here are some winter foods to keep you warm.....

My favourite Filipino winter dish would be Sopas ....
chickensopas4.jpg

Mum use to make it all the time I loved it!!!!

Its chicken soup with macaroni, vegetables, sausage etc its really hearty. You can have it as is, or with rice or pan de sal (Filipino bread) On winter nights it really warms me up and it just puts a smile on my face. I feel a sense of nostalgia and happiness when I have the soup.

Here is the recipe

Ingredients
3 tablespoons butter
1 medium sized onion, diced
1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast, diced
32 ounces chicken broth (about 4 cups)
2 sausages, diced
2 eggs
2 cups elbow macaroni
¾ cup celery stalk, chopped
¾ cup carrots, diced
¾ cup cabbage; shredded
¾ cup fresh or evaporated milk
1 cup water
Salt and ground black pepper to taste

Instructions
Heat a cooking pot and put-in the butter. Allow the butter to melt.
Add onions and cook until the texture becomes soft.
Put-in the boneless chicken breasts and cook for 3 to 5 minutes.
Sprinkle some salt and ground black pepper and stir.
Add chicken broth and bring to a boil.
Pour-in water and milk and wait to re-boil. Simmer for 15 to 20 minutes.
Add the elbow macaroni and cook for 8 minutes while stirring once in awhile.
Put-in the carrots, sausages, celery and simmer for 3 minutes.
Add the cabbage and cook for 2 minutes more.
Turn-off the heat and transfer to a serving plate.
Serve hot. Share and enjoy!

You can also boil 2 eggs, slice them in half and add to the soup for my protein and deliciousness

Sort:  

Mum's always have special twists for food. Mum's recipes are always the best 😄
Thanks for sharing this recipe

im glad you enjoyed my post :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62151.48
ETH 2421.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57