While inflation continues...

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

I opened a new tab of my browser and saw this news on my feed from yesterday. The news is fascinating. I did not realize that the value of our money has gone that low.



Partial screenshots of the news. Read the whole article here.

Prices of basic commodities and services started to rise at the start of this year because of the implementation of The Tax Reform for Acceleration and Inclusion (TRAIN) Act. You can find more details here but in a nutshell, it is reducing the personal income taxes of workers while increasing the excise taxes on petroleum products, automobiles and sweetened beverages. When the proposal of this act came out of the news, many articles included possible computation and savings of workers because of the reduced tax brackets. There were those who also included computation on possible prices of the products that will be affected.

As I saw it on social media, many people rejoiced. I did not. I wonder how I am supposed to rejoice when the reduced personal income tax is being reciprocated for petroleum products, automobiles and sweetened beverages. These three products cover almost all of the basic commodities and services that we consume or utilize on a day to day basis.

I am not an economist or financial analyst at any rate but I think I can fairly say that I know at least the very basics of supply and demand. If taxes are increased for those corporations or businesses that are providing basic commodities, where do we expect them to get their payment for the additional tax? From the people. How? By increasing prices of their products or services. Now we are seeing it but many did not understand until they see it happening.

Even my housemates did not understand the consequences. Prior to the implementation of TRAIN, I hear praises about it. When I try to explain, they keep quiet but I don’t think they were convinced. They just didn’t want a debate. When it is already in place, I got a chance to present to them the actual effect about a couple of months ago.

Soft drinks are not regular at home as we all are not in favor of it but we have it once in a while. There was once when one of my nephews kept quiet and bought a bottle of Sprite. Over lunch, I noticed the bottle is printed with 1.75L so I checked with my nephew.

“You bought that at the price of two liters, right?”

He was surprised and said, “Yes. I asked for two liters and that is what they handed to me. Why?”

“It is not two liters. Did you notice the volume printed on the bottle?” I do not recall a bottle of 1.75 liter volume of soft drinks in the market prior to the new tax scheme. There were 1.5L and 2L bottles.

He took a look at it and realized what I was saying: the same price but with reduced volume. Soft drinks are sweetened beverages thus impacted by the increased excise tax. I pressed on.

“That is the effect of the new tax scheme. Corporations will find a way to somehow make the people not feel the change in their prices. But we as consumers have to be observant.”

Then I went on recalling my rant on Facebook about my taxi fare when I was charged of additional 70% from the usual fare of my regular route. Yes, that is a whopping 70% increase! At this rate, even the savings from the reduced personal income tax will not be enough to cover the additional expenses. That is for the transportation alone. How much more with other commodities and services?

Prices of basic commodities and services have soared so high and yet we cannot afford to increase minimum wage to even at least half of the price increase rate. I see comments on social media that the concept of TRAIN is good but the implementation strategy is a wreck. I thought TRAIN concept is the strategy in itself so how is the former good and the latter a wreck? Again, I am not an economist or financial analyst. And I may not have a good suggestion for the continuing inflation. I just hope our government bodies will find a median because as I see it, the poor are getting poorer...

Sort:  

Congratulations @macoolette! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!


Ibinahagi ang lathalang ito sa #pilipinas channel para sa mga curator ng Curation Collective Discord Community, binigyan ng upvote at ni-resteem ng @c-squared na account pagkatapos ng manu-manong pagsusuri.
This post was shared in the #pilipinas channel in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Maraming salamat mga kabayan sa inyong pagkilala at pagsuporta sa aking opinyonadong artikulo. 😊

My issue with the inflation is people being happy with the dollar to peso value getting higher. They do not understand it's something not to be happy about. The peso value goes down and people are happy? Tsk. Only those who earn in $$$ are happy and I think it is selfish of them to think so. It is not good if our peso value goes down.

As for the TRAIN tax... Well I don't drink softdrinks unless it is included in the value meals. Hmmm... Now that I think of it, maybe I should never buy value meals now that the softdrinks cost more than usual... Will only buy solo meals, like I usually do.

Inflation is a different story than that of our foreign exchange rate or the equivalent dollar value of our money. Very good examples are Korea and Japan. These countries have much lower dollar value of their currency as compared to Philippine peso but they are able to buy more with their money. We cannot say that they are going through bad inflation just because their money value with respect to forex rate is very low.

The soft drinks scenario is just one example to illustrate the effect of TRAIN but understanding the TRAIN impact should not just be limited to soft drinks.

As I mentioned on my post, TRAIN impacts increasing the excise taxes on petroleum products, automobiles and sweetened beverages. These three products - petroleum products, automobiles and sweetened beverages - are where our basic daily necessities revolve around. That means all our basic necessities will be impacted.

Take the case of petroleum products. Every time price of these products go high, our public utility vehicle drivers and operators demand for fare increase. So if taxes for petroleum products go high, it is only fair to expect the petroleum companies to increase their prices. That will in turn give our PUV operators and drivers the reason to demand for fare increase which will be additional burden to poor Juan and Pedro when salary increase is out of sight.

In a nutshell, it is a chain reaction that impacts almost everything. This is what I hope our fellow countrymen would understand. We can not say that "di bale, gasolina, inumin at mga sasakyan lang naman ang tataasan ng tax."

Very nice, it's good I made a comment so you can expound on it more. Am not an expert on it so at least we know what you have learned about it. 👍👍👍

Inflation sucks. The value of our money seems to be going down plus the increasing inflation... Oh my. I'm hoping the PHP will get stronger and inflation will slow down or be minimized.

Posted using Partiko Android

Indeed, your comment paved the way for further clarification so it is good. I am actually thankful for it as I missed to put those clarifications in my main article. 😊

Yes, let us hope that these challenges would turn around for the good of us all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30