REGRESSING TRANSPORTATION - My Daily Journey Going Home!

in #philippines6 years ago

Hi Steemians,

Transportation in the Philippines is really diverse. Unfortunately, it is both difficult in urban and rural areas. It has been a daily dose of dilemma especially to commuters situated in the centers of industry like mine. That doesn't still make it also a dilemma to the barangays, towns and provinces. It has also been an issue to people especially on weekdays.

Why?


P_20180307_094926.jpg

It is difficult in rural areas because of unavailability and lack of efficacy. It is equally difficult in urban areas because of congestion. In a country like ours, transportation is really important because of our geographical orientation.

Put it simply, you have too much transportation in the cities and too less in provinces. You have more users in the cities and quite lesser in towns and suburbs.

I have experienced firsthand its diversity! Yes, I work in a corporate world but that doesn't evade nor excuse me from taking the rather classical and old rides going home. So, experience my journey and also what is manifested by our economic strata even on my way home. Take note, this is on a daily basis from Mondays to Fridays.

I divided my trip into three phases. You would notice each mirrors the different economic conditions in the Philippines.

1st Phase


P_20180227_091753.jpg
This is one shuttle going to an entrance/exit of McKinley Area(group of restaurants, mall and call center buildings.

After shift, once we get out of the building, we will be waiting for the shuttles. Yes, the corporate place where I work can sponsor roving shuttles in the vicinity and they are for free. We just have to wait adjacent to the façade of the infrastructure and we are good to go. These shuttles are fully air-conditioned, built with soft and comfy chairs. The door is even powered by hydraulics to open and close at the driver's will. It is indeed a good ride from our tired bodies after working at the wee hours of the night. This is an example of a modern transportation brought about by an area with a higher economic tier.

19478095_10209100136076700_510887235_n.jpg
This is the area where I work. It has tall buildings and state of the art facilities.

They can afford their employees to ride for free and just pay the shuttle operators and owners like on a monthly basis or annual contract or something. Everyone can actually be accommodated. The wait time is no more than 30 minutes and is really convenient. There are designated stops as not to create chaos and traffic. This is the power of money, fame and influence.

P_20180227_091835.jpg
These are the people waiting for their corresponding shuttles to arrive. They work in the same industry as I do.

So if you've noticed, 99% of the population that utilizes the free services came from the same background that I do. Let us now proceed with the next phase.

2nd Phase


P_20180228_092156.jpg
I consider these automobiles the prince of the streets. I don't think you would find an area in the metro without these.

This is the phase where I have to pay for my fare. These vehicles are called jeepneys and are very common in our country. They are so common that they are considered as like a national symbol of the Philippines. Unlike my first ride, this is the time where other backgrounds of work are also joining in for the ride home. Much of the passengers still are BPO employees but the mixture is noticeable already. Since it is not free, other people can also take advantage of the situation. I am referring to the dispatchers who just invest in shouting for passengers to ride and in every jeepney they get some sort of commission.

P_20180227_092934.jpg
Usually, there are two lines here. Each line is for a different jeepney for a different destination.

Fortunately, at this time when the picture was taken, there were no lines. Oftentimes, we would fall in line and wait for vacant jeepneys to actually stopover. The wait time can actually reach a gruesome 30 minutes. Imagine working at night with the chillness of the air-conditioning system running down your skin then abruptly exposing yourself into a mad sunlight! It would really drain your energy.

Nevertheless, jeepneys are a vital part of most Filipinos all over the country. With a not so expensive fare, it can reach you to many destinations 24/7. Of course I am not referring to just one particular jeepney. Reaching the next city or town can be a 2 or 3 jeepney ride. This is the transportation for all. It can accommodate a group and is the perfect epitome of a vehicle for the masses.

3rd Phase


P_20180228_094827.jpg
The form of transportation that can even send you door to door.

After riding four-wheeled vehicles, is the next one that I'll take. These are called tricycles. See what initiative the Filipinos have! They turned the normal motorcycles into a vehicle that can accommodate up 7 passengers. They don't have a problem much in squeezing through traffic. Unlike the jeepneys , buses, trains and shuttles, they are just confined in the main roads and highways. These rides can deliver you to narrow streets in the villages.

P_20180227_094210.jpg
This tunnel leading to the tricycle terminal

I consider this area as somewhat like an estuary. If rivers have like a midpoint before the seas and oceans where salinity and fresh water meets, this is my version of urbanization. This is where the vehicles converge portraying two different pictures of economical situations. From the corporate, high rise infrastructures to the more common bungalows, stores, villages, street vendors and many more.

The tricycle then stops at a nearby street corner. This is then where I walk passing many houses and variety stores. I could see a mixture of lifestyles from that 10 minute walk in the heart of the village and then until goal is reached which is home.

The regressing mode of transportation that I take everyday is not portraying that the economy also is. It just depicts how one area so cozy and comfortable whilst just a few kilometers is an area struggling to develop. It is a good thing that my fellow countrymen and myself are built to adjust to whatever situation we are currently in.

Before I end this article is a transportation vs economic dilemma that I will share to you.

I rode a tricycle and normally I position myself at the back of the driver. It is easier to aboard and depart. Since I had groceries, I paid for two to make myself more comfortable and also not to squeeze. In just a few hundred meters, two of the back passengers reached their destination leaving two vacant spots.

Ahead is a group consisting of three passengers. One attempted to sit next to me but was told that the seat has already been paid. Because of that, they did not ride and just waited for the next tricycle. The driver got upset at me because the two payments were wasted.

My question thereby is this: Am I at fault for not considering the welfare and income of the driver or is the driver at fault because he tried to manipulate the idea that I had no one beside me which I paid for?

YOUR THOUGHTS??

FOOTNOTENEW.png

Sort:  

In a way you are both wrong and right. You technically paid for the seat, but I take it that the driver would not be considered a rich man, so every bit helps him financially. You are both being selfish. Still, you paid for a service and he agreed to the arrangement so he cannot really be angry at you for it.

I love the Jeepneys and Tricycles though. They look really cool and practical.

You have a point sir. Unfortunately, the person that will ride next to me is bigger than I am and I had groceries. We will be both uncomfortable. Normally, I would be considerate but that moment was an exception. I was thinking if I had a companion that I paid for, will I have him be substituted by a stranger passenger? I seriously don't think so.

Indeed, the tricycles can easily be re-routed. The jeepneys have cheap fuel source and can accommodate many passengers.

I love it when you tell us the three phases of your journey. It's not easy to commute, but i enjoyed observing people. Lol. You'll get to see varieties of road storyline. Thank you for sharing my friend @luigienius..

so you are observant...lol...indeed, everyday is really different even if it same old, same old routine. Thank you for reading.

Congratulations @luigienius! Your post has been featured to our steemph-manila-daily-featured-posts. Please continue to create quality articles. Click here: steemph-manila-daily-featured-posts-12-mar-2018 Thanks!

It is an honor. Thank you

same here @luigienius... dilemma for all commuters:)

so the feeling is mutual for your everyday ride? HAHA thanks for reading

This post has received a 0.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by luigienius from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

commuting have it's advantage and disadvantages. I greatly enjoy commuting but at times people have different view and values from you, like the common sense "hair should be tied to avoid thy hair slapping the face of the person sitting next to you". haha. anyway I agree about your point about the trike incident. :)

Thank you for siding with me. Haha. Commuting is no problem. It is situation or issues you face along the way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16