New Year, New Me: A List of Concrete Things to Achieve

in #philippines6 years ago

I am not the type of person who writes a New Year's resolution. I used to think that New Year's Resolutions are meant to be broken and that the changes they bring about to a person are forced; and thus, volatile. However, that is not really the case. The reason why I felt as such because I never really tried to stick to my resolution. I missed the point that New Year's Resolutions are about effort to and consistency on sticking to the list. So this year, I am writing one.

Here is my 2018 New Year's Resolution:


1. Less time playing DotA 2, more time studying

DotA 2 is an online 5 vs. 5 game and I've been playing it since 2012. Ever since I started playing DotA 2, my average time spent on DotA 2 per week is 20 hours. On the other hand, I've been been spending 8 hours per week on my studies. This had significant effect on my academic and research performance. Because of this I plan to reduce my time on the game to 10 hours a week and increase my time for studies to 15 hours per week.

2. Meditate everyday: after waking up and before sleeping

I am expected to graduate this year. That means more stress! To handle the stress, I think practicing mindfulness meditation will help. I plan to start with 3 mins meditation in the morning and 3 mins meditation before sleeping then gradually increasing by a minute every week until I reach 10 mins.

3. Jog regularly

Another way to handle stress is by exercising. In my current situation as an undergraduate student, the best well-rounded exercise is jogging. I will commit two hours every other day for jogging. This way, I can keep myself healthy even with all the upcoming stress.

4. Be more organized

I used to think that keeping a journal and a planner are both too cheesy and girly. But now I realized that having at least one of them is very advantageous in terms of being organized. A journal or a planner will allow me to track my schedule of activities more carefully and I will be constantly reminded of my responsibilities. Other than being organized, I think this will help me become a more productive person as well.

5. Write more

I aspire to become a good science communicator but I have not made a step to becoming one. This year, things will change! I will practice my writing so that I can develop my communicating skills. Using Steemit as my platform, I will try to write tutorials on math and physics that can be of use to Steemians who want to learn them. I will also communicate my opinions on science and it's significance with relation to other fields of study.

How about you fellow Steemians? What are your New Year's Resolutions?
Thanks for dropping by at my post :D

Sort:  

change is coming indeed hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64275.63
ETH 3502.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51