What to Expect When Living in an Island

in #philippines7 years ago


(Disclaimer: This is only applicable if the island is not a tourist spot.)
I went to the city because of my studies. I stayed in Manila City, while studying college in Mapúa University. But, originally, I'm from the province of Antique. I'm from Semirara Island, to be specific. I'm an island girl! And because I'm done with college and only waiting for the graduation, I was instructed by my benefactors who are my parents, especially my mom, to go home for a while. I'm used to living in the city and coming back home reminded me of certain things one will only get to experience in an island.


1. People sleep way too early.


Image Source

In the city, my usual sleep would be 10:00 to 11:00 pm. I can also stay awake until 2:00 to 5:00 in the morning if needed or if I just wanted to. But in the province, here at home, I often feel drowsy even if it's just 6:30 in the evening. And we have to go to sleep by 7:00 until 8:00 pm. If one wanted to stay late, 8:30 pm is the last straw. No more extensions. And when you go out of the house, you'll probably only see darkness. It's because everybody else is fast asleep as well. (Except when there are community events such as fiestas and basketball leagues where people gather at the plaza and stays until 12 midnight, but I never got to experience those. I always have to be home by 6 until 8 pm.)

In my first two days when I got back, I went to bed before the clock striked 7:00 in the evening and on the third day, I couldn't help but sleep when the clock ticked to 8:30 pm. Bummer! I couldn't stay late. It's not that I wouldn't. I really could not.

2. People wake up way too early.


Because they slept early the night before, the result would be obvious. They would wake up way too early. And as soon as the roosters cockadoodled, these people start their everyday chores. They cook breakfast for their family or for themselves. The employees who have 4:00 or 5:00-am-shift will prepare to go to work. The homestay-mothers or homestay-fathers will prepare their children for school. They will sweep the backyard, frontyard and even the side yards afterwards. They will water their plants and do the laundry right after. By the time, the sun is almost up, they're done with everything and will either watch the morning talkshow they always watch on a favorite television network or have a friendly gossip with the neighbor before preparing for lunch.

I wake up early everyday since I arrived. I woke up 3:00 in the morning today as well. But it was hard for me to do the other chores because it kept raining. I was just able to do the cooking, the laundry and taking care of my 4-year-old-niece.

3. Vehicles are sparse when the clock strikes 7 pm.


Image Source

If you are living in a barrio like me where the market place is 8 kilometers away or more, you need a vehicle. A motorbike will do; however, if you don't happen to own one, be ready for the consequences. By 7 in the afternoon, you'll rarely find a tricycle to ride home. If you are living in the center, sentro, or bayan, it wouldn't be much of a problem.

The Municipality of Caluya provided a free service that the people can ride everyday. It arrives at my barangay between 6:30 to 8:30 in the morning depending on school days, weekends and holidays and sends the people home between 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm. It varies. Luckily, employees often get off work at 6:30 pm. And there are a lot of employees who have motorbikes and scooters. When I can't find a trike, I often hitch a ride with people I know and even just the familiar faces. I kinda trust even just familiar faces when I'm back home.

4. Most of the people know you.


Image Source

Living in an island is an advantage and a disadvantage. The advantage is people know each other and the disadvantage is people know each other. Why? Because if someone new comes, they will probably know immediately who it is and if something unfortunate happens, they know who to ask for help. On the other hand, if something happens to you, the whole barrio would probably know, too because words always travel fast like wildfire among people who knows each other. Gossiping is a pat of life in an island, I must say.

Coming back home, I've been also a subject in their talks because I've gained weight and if I graduated already, among other things. Anyways, I greet people and they greet back. Pagmamano is a Filipino gesture as a sign of respect and I usually have to do it among elders. And boy, there are a lot of them back home.

5. The stars are amazing at night.


Image Source

In the city, a star or two might be seen twinkling at night but in the province; not even by the mountains or by the beach but right outside when you stepped out of the door of your house, millions of little sparkles will look at you and will even wink.

It has been raining since I arrived but the sky cleared and the night sky was always majestic.


PS. I was able to post this just now because the internet connection in the island is not great. It's good to be back in steemit.

Sort:  

nice i vote you and follow you please follow me back and vote my all posts please then i will vote your all posts and i will promote your posts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47