POETRY 1: ONE STARRY NIGHT (With it's Background and Inspiration)

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)


credits: google.com

Before anything else, I would love to extend my outmost gratitude to the ones who greeted me, and to those who have welcomed me into this such wonderful community. Thank you very very very much!

Well, anyway hi there again steeemmiiiaaaannnnssss!!!!! :) hahahahahaha

You know, loving is such a great feeling right? When it comes in your way, you feel like you're the happiest person in the world. You feel like you are the luckiest person. And we can't escape from the fact that it really is so wonderful. But, despite of feeling those things, you can feel anguish as well. When love fades and when it has been turned into lies, you feel very gloomy and sad. These are just the basic feelings of Loving. Now, let me share to you a story of my friend. Here's a picture of us both.

DSCN1237.JPG

Yeah! that's me and on my left is my friend. You see, every single one of us has, his and her own stories of happiness, sadness, and excitement but his story is one of my favorites!

So, here's how it goes. 10 people (not including the mom, siblings and grandparents of my other friend) were invited to go at some place in Cebu. And I am one of them. At that place we spent our friend's 18th birthday. We were having fun under the shade of the sun. The day was so full of laughs. Evening came, and we sat next to each other in front of our tent. All of us sat around the fire, to keep ourselves warm. Little by little, others have fallen asleep, until just 5 of us were left. We were talking about things and things until we have reached the topic, LOVING! I shared some of my experiences to them and they shared their's as well, No one was serious at the moment so it was full of laughs and nags. Not until, my friend started to speak. He shared his story to us in details and one can really feel the sadness in his voice. But, we cheered him up so that laughs will still prevail. His story goes like this anyways, hemm hemm!

According to him. She had a crush on a girl. A girl that made her heart flutter and a girl who gave him butterflies. This girl has been so special to him. So, he decided to court her and He succeeded. There love was growing stronger and stronger. But, as time changes, the girl as well, changed. on the very day of their 1st anniversasry he was ready to give her a surprise but sadly, instead of finding his girl sohappy and excited. The girl was shocked, shocked because my friend was able to find out that she is going out with some other guy. And the worst part, she was not embarrased and she even blowed my friend off.

With this story of his. My poetry senses were awakened. I then took his story, as the poems inspiration.And, I was then able to write an 18 stanza poem, with four lines in each stanza, and a free verse style. So, I won't make it long anymore. Here's my poem entitled ONE STARRY NIGHT, hope you'll like it!

ONE STARRY NIGHT


-Kenie Ruales

The sky's glimmering.
It looks stunning.
The dark coated sky.
Makes you wish you could fly.

Looking up, sitting next to the fire.
Thinking nothing, but my desire.
A shooting star passed and I closed my eyes.
I then wished that you are sitting right here by my side.

I thought about you and I found myself feeling so empty.
Feels like I'm buried with debts that my friends left me.
I thought, that my emptiness made me feel so lonely.
It was then, I have realized, that I was missing you.

But why am I missing you?
And why did you left me too?
Thoughts flowed through my mind.
Like a horse unleashed, you can never bind.

But the feeling seems to grow fast.
Like the ocean, it became so vast.
I looked up and I closed my eyes.
I thought deeply, thinking about the past.

A light shone towards me.
And it feels like it's summoning me.
I fell a thousand yards from the sky.
I landed with a thump, it was so high.

Then again the sky's full of stars.
And I saw you and me,
Talking about the past and how they gave us scars
I saw you smilling at me.

Then I realized this was the night we both developed feelings for each other.
A flash of light took me to another night.
And there I saw myself kneeling in front of you.
Asking you if, I can be yours and you're mine too.

And on that starry night we became one.
Another flash of light changed the setting.
One starry night, on our 12th month as one.
We were shouting and arguing, we were debating.

I saw myself feeling so mad.
I saw your eyes, looking so sad.
But I wonder how did we ended up fighting.
The setting changed like a flash of lightning.

And, I was standing in a park.
I looked up, it's another one starry night.
The stars looked fine they even gave a spark.
That part of the park has no lights.

So I can't barely see who's with you.
But I saw someone walking.
He has some gifts, I guess it is for you.
Then you stood and stopped talking.

Then the man with the gifts walked away.
You followed him all the way.
Until both of you are standing on a lampost.
And there I saw myself, so mad under that lampost.

There were screams and shouts and I slammed the flowers.
Then on that starry night you left me.
Because you choose him over me.
You choose his money and not me.

You've become too weak to realize.
You've choosen your heart not your mind, to annalyze.
I thought you were strong.
But it seems like my thoughts were wrong.

I walked away from you.
Then the scene became blurry
Little by little that scene past away.
I was back at my normal self.

I looked up and saw the starry sky.
A tear dropped from my eye.
I wiped off those damn tears
Cause I've finally realised from all those years.

I loved you, back when I thought it was you.
But, my heart says, she's not for you.
So on this starry night, I decided, I stood.
"It's time to move on." I said, I walked as I wore my hood.

Quite long eh? hahahaha, well anyways thank you for sparing your precious time reading this long stuff! And if you have any suggestions please feel free to leave it down there. Again Thank you and have a Good Night! :)

Sort:  

If you will be consistent in doing something like this. Plus beautifying it with markdown styles, you will surely succeed in here.

Congratulations @kenieruales! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97