REFLECTIONS FROM SIR TERRY's WORDS (A.K.A @surpassinggoogle) | STEEM SUMMIT

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

To begin with, I am more than grateful that Sir Terry has been a huge help to all Filipinos especially my fellow Cebuanos who are blogging in Steemit, for he has continued showing his undying support since the beginning.

I guess he doesn't have any idea how elated we were when our blogs had been supported not only because of the monetary benefit that obviously we could get but more importantly the comment that he left on blogs and the recognition of our comment on somebody's blog. That alone shows that he does spend some time reading some posts.

During the Steem Summit which was held just so recently, I got the chance to meet him, shake hands, take a photo, and listen to his words of wisdom. I was actually all ears at that time. Well, actually everyone of us.

31143891_10211481524573611_3645836354178252800_n.jpg

Photo Credits: @fernwehninja

Being a giant (I'm not talking about his height haha) on this platform, I realized that he never acted like superior that would make his audience feel or taste some inferiority complex. That is worth commending, really is. I've been meeting different successful people and I do feel that there's always some air of superiority and worse arrogance sometimes. Actually I see that kind of behavior as a norm and I don't give a darn with it.

Anyway, as I comprehended the words that Sir Terry shared with us, two things struck me the most:

1. Filipinos are beautiful people

For sure, he doesn't mean it literally. I came to realize that yes we are naturally beautiful inside. The characteristics such as being hospitable, friendly, optimist, resilient, to name a few are what make our race distinct.

This has been proven for so many times. And I guess we Filipinos sometimes forget our real gem for who we really are. I bet we need to be reminded of the real beauty that has been kept within every now and then.

The community of Cebu Steemians has been a huge proof of how beautiful Filipinos are. The camaraderie and the love of uplifting others show that we can be united as one. That is beautiful.

2. Good looks are attractive but substance can go miles

Well, this is not the exact words from Sir Terry but based on my comprehension, it meant that way.

I couldn't agree more on that! When a person is equipped with knowledge and a good heart he could attract more than what a good looking person could do. It is human nature to always see what pleases the eyes but that just fleeting. A good character and wisdom are far more valuable than the physical appearance. And that should be taken into account.

These two are the significant lessons I've learned upon reflecting the words that Sir Terry had spoken during a surprise visit in the Steem Summit Event. That was really memorable!

Sort:  

Very very sweet, the spottables that you chose to spot. You are awesome!

Thanks Sir! May the good Lord bless you even more!

he's a decent guide, philipina in my eyes benevolent and simple to acknowledge outsiders.

Yes so very true @rameelkarim, I admire him for supporting bloggers religiously.

I wish he could be my biological brother haha

@julsmlz you are so lucky to have him ( @surpassinggoogle ) live and took photos with he. It was sure a successful and joyful meetup there.

Yes, actually it was a surprise visit, the Steem Summit event was already finished at that time and steemians separated ways until one of the leaders in our community informed us about his presence. So we hurriedly left from a restaurant and went back to the venue where the meetup was held.

amazing! you wrote this very well.. two thumbs up!

Thanks @junebride! I wish you were there meeting him too.

mao.sayang jd..hahayz

The characteristics such as being hospitable, friendly, optimist, resilient, to name a few are what make our race distinct.

Very well said officemate . :) We, filipinos are beautiful in our own unique ways. I am proud being a Filipina. Once again Terry has been a great inspiration to everyone here in Steemit.

Yeah so true! Such a down-to-earth being!

Steemit meetups is a beautiful meeting to hold. It's sweet to meet other people who share your goals and interests in life. So much so if the interest is as interesting as Steemit 😎😎😎 God bless you @surpassinggoogle for gracing the 'celebrity' meetup

@shamzieyjr exactly! Belonging to this community is one of best pleasures in this social media era, how lucky we are for discovering this platform!

he's a good mentor, philipina in my eyes very friendly and easy to accept strangers.

Yes we treat strangers like family also but just be nice too or else! Haha 💪

You can say that again! Yes he really is!

He's so tall and big like he's heart. Keep up the good work sir

Very much! I’m a fan!

Beautiful inside & outside

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54134.64
ETH 2467.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16