FILIPINO AMERICAN IN THE PHILIPPINES #2: ARE FILIPINOS ASIAN OR PACIFIC ISLANDERS?

in #philippines6 years ago

Screenshot_16.png
SOURCE Pictured above is two Filipinos? But are they Asian or Pacific Islanders?

I've been trying to figure this one out so I don't step on anyone's toes. For the most part every Filipino I know either swears to God that they are Asian or, leans towards that notion. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion. I for one like to hear everyone's reason for thinking the way they do. I'll keep this one clean, and short because I can't add the horror stories and racial bigotry.

Take note of the main picture above. On the left we have what most call a Filipino male, and has strong Asian features. On the right, we have an Aeta (indigenous) little girl, that is also a Filipino. She would not be considered Asian by most non indigenous Filipinos. She has strong Pacific Islander features. I know this because I come from both backgrounds. In my family get togethers you will see a multi national party going on.

Now why is it that this little girl is not considered Asian. Her people resides in Asia, right? Or is it because society has adopted the physical features of what they think Asians suppose to look like? Everyone needs to put down the racial and skin color blinders and look at things from a different point of view.

Celebrate.png
SOURCE
I have a full blooded Filipino friend that was born in Tarlac and was raised in California. He has since retired in the Philippines and we had a discussion about the whole Asian and Pacific Islander debate. He asked me what I though Filipinos were, and I answered.

I asked him "Are you from California or the United States of America"? He looked confused and thought I was asking a trick question. He told me both. He was right. He was raised in California majority of his life and California is part of the United States. Now, why can't Filipinos have the same distinction?

My question to him was geographical and not based on skin color and kinky hair. Everyone needs to realize that the question asked to them, is directly related to geography and has nothing to do with social and physical differences. It seems like every blog I've read on the subject matter has someone blurting out Asian textiles and noodles, which has nothing to do with geography and the little Aeta girl.

The Philippines as well as several other countries are located on the ASIAN CONTINENT. Technically speaking, people from Pakistan and India are Asian as well. They are totally different from their Chinese neighbors, so much so like the indigenous Aetas and the Filipinos that we have today due to 100+ years of colonialism.

India-Human-Hindu-Portrait-613601.jpg
SOURCE Hello my fellow Asians in the Philippines. I'm Asian just like you.

Now let's take a look at the Pacific Islander references. This isn't going to be hard to follow. The Philippines is a group/cluster of islands in the Northern Pacific Ocean. That sentence alone should tell you what the Philippines really is.

What everyone doesn't realize is that the whole Asian and Pacific Islander debate, is pitting two geographical categories against one another, with the thought of it being either, or. Continental speaking, Philippines is on the Asian continent. If they were a few 1000 miles to the right, they would be on the Australian/Oceania Continent.

Screenshot_17.png
SOURCE Pictured above is the countries that are on the Asian Continent. Everyone in those countries are considered Asian.

So for the record, the Philippines is on the Asian continent, and is considered Pacific Islanders due to the fact that they are a cluster of islands (7000+) located in the Pacific Ocean. Race, skin color, kinky hair, and height has nothing to do with those categories.

I hope we put that little baby to bed. Or did I just open another can of worms? Hope to hear from you fellow PACIFIC ISLANDERS!!! JOKE LANG.......

DQmNXzbBcXxL9q7XWTRHieBuC4fAY8dfvEmjhXEQXPP3Neb.jpg

Sort:  

Hello kabayan! Nice post. People really generalize based on their skin color.

Yes they do indeed. In future write ups I'm going to start talking more about the hang ups and pit falls that I have encountered in the Pinas. Lots to talk about and share. Tribal difference and superiority is coming up soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97