Profile Banners and Their Implications | Made Myself an Improvised Banner for the Community Accounts I Support

in #philippines6 years ago

It has been 3 months since I started Steemit and I have to say it has been a great ride. I came here as a skeptic, spreading false rumors about crypto being a ponzi scheme. I didn't really trust the platform until I saw myself earn from my rewards. From then, things started to go uphill.

It's funny how far I have come with just a few months. I would never have imagined myself so invested with Steemit. It has been a home for me already. In the past months, I have learned so much from my experience here. From cryptocurrencies to the rise and fall of the market, cyber etiquettes, arts, crafts, poetry and just about anything else pumped by the Steemit platform. There are a lot of people here with varied interests and it's very exciting to learn new things from each one. I gained a lot of new friends and acquaintances as my growing interests flourished with it.

I could say that I am familiar with the how the system goes around here. However, if there is one thing I am still not quite sure about is this:

What is the implied rule of using community banners?

Each community account always has its banner. Like countries have their flags, community accounts need to own its own symbol. It is a personal branding and a means to promote the account.

sndbox.PNG

Say for example @sndbox, who just recently updated their logo. Almost all @sndbox fellows have with them a gif showing the community account's logo. Take my good friends (friends ta ha? HAHA) of mine @smaeunabs and @jassennessaj:

smae.PNG
jassen.PNG

Displaying their banners allows us to have a grasp of their credibility on the platform. We then know that these people are @sndbox fellows meaning they go to extra lengths to build "sandcastles" in their local community and with that, they have been recognized by the community account. My point here is that both of them earned that title. Subsequently, both of them earned that banner.

In my case, imagine me trying to support @sndbox and making my own gif. I would be a poser. A fraud. That's not the way to go about it. The same thing goes for the @steemph.cebu banner by @smaeunabs and all the core leaders such as @ninyea, @mikekenlytungal, @fernwehninja, @itinerantph, @bellatravelph, @themanualbot, and @queenventurer. If I am not mistaken, they have the official @steemph.cebu banner on their posts. This then asserts the question,

What about us? What about the laymen who make up the community? Are we allowed to modify the banner for ourselves? Or do we need to earn it? Would it be as easy as asking for a copy?

This isn't really a big issue but I hope it makes you ask the same question as well. In my case, I think it would have been best if I asked further if I wanted a banner. I believe they would have given me answers. However even if I already did have the @steemph.cebu banners, what about my other affiliations? I am in @thealliance and @air-clinic as well. That surely isn't fair if I pick one account to support. So to solve that issue,

I made my own account banner! LOL

JOSEJIRAFA Banner.png

I actually decided to make my own banner to my own liking featuring the community accounts that I am affiliated with or which I fully support. At least now each account is given the opportunity to be featured in each of my blog posts.

@steemph and @steemph.cebu

sp-cebu2.png

This community account has got to be the greatest catalyst for my growth here. I have been featured countless times in the contests and discussions of the account. I think this is partly because of my persistence to really try and get free SBD lol. I do hope the admins didn't award me as a means of consolation for my efforts haha. More importantly, I was able to broaden my horizons and actually met a lot of new people from the monthly meetups. It was great to get to know them

@air-clinic

DQmPzv8G9MXbajgFo8RniS3av1ag4EZg8ZPxHS3pwe7hmcy.png

Being a member of the healthcare team, I believe it is imperative for me to support this account. This only comes second by the amount of support that the community has given for my health education posts. The account was founded by around the same time I joined Steemit and is being spearheaded by @nairadaddy. Currently, most of the members are from Nigeria. However, I can see that the numbers are growing more and more each day as the Steemians are growing exponentially as well. I met some very interesting people such as @isaganispeaks in here as well. The discord group conducts free consultations and a daily discussion for just about anything one would want to talk about in relation to medical issues and topics.

@thealliance

thealliance2.png

#thealliance is this group of individuals who dedicate themselves to creating and curating quality content. It is an international community for which anyone can join if he/she commits to the rules of the group. You can visit the @thealliance account to know more and to read featured authors. This was founded by @enginewitty along with @jatinjota, @suggeelson and @sircork. They are composed of a few known steemians as well such as @topkpop, @battleaxe and @saffisara who are these diverse group of individuals who support each other.

@steemiteducation

U5dry8PwHEY127jKoVY1LtGC4B2baPN_1680x8400.png

The @steemiteducation account doesn't really hold any membership to anyone but I would like to include this one since I fully support education and the power that it has. Furthermore, I used to really get great rewards from this account back in December when it was still in its first phases of development. I think it's good that they stick to rewarding minnows with great content as they did with me.

gothique page break.png

These are just a few of the accounts I would be most proud to mention. If you have any community account worth mentioning, leave them on the comments section below. Maybe I will add them to my list pretty soon.

The photos were taken from the respective community accounts and slightly modified for my own use

Thanks for Reading and please keep on scrolling so you will have the chance to see my freshly made banner HAHAHA.

gothique page break.png

This has been Aaron, Jose the Giraffe with my new profile banner lol

JOSEJIRAFA Banner.png
@steemph.cebu | @steemiteducation | @air-clinic | @thealliance | @steemph

Sort:  

Woooow nindota ani oy! nice idea nga isagol sa usa ka footer ang logos :D Dalia ras panahon oy, 3 months naman diay, you've grown so much and you'll continue to grow even more :D Who knows, sndbox logo na ang mudungag sa imong footer puhon :D

By the looks of it, mgdugay njd ko dnhe ate haha. Haha ambot unsaon na pero Steemit has been unpredictable jd. Will ride on that uncertainty

Wow!! Great banner! I still have a long way til I think I will make my own banner!! 😁

I hope it won't take too long. I'm itching to see as to how you would make it

I like the idea that you put all the icons together.

I dont know yet if I am allowed to use the steemphcebu even after having attended the 7th meet up... I really like to use it but I also have a feeling that I will be called a fraud.

For #thealliance, since I am also a member, I think I will be asking for the official logo as well since there was a general overhauling. I havent visited the discord channel for awhile now.. Huhuhu.

Lastly, Aaron, bai... Pwede ni nako sundogon kung matagaan ko nilang abiso nga makagamit ani? Ako pud isagol tanan?

Walay problema bai haha, It's an honor if you will do so. With regards to @thealliance, I simply asked if it was okay to have a copy of the footers and banners. They directed me to a channel in the group where everything was there. Though implicit, I think that these banners are subject to fair use. They are after all promoting the account. But just to be sure, I think it is best to ask. Will be waiting for your banner soon

Salamat bai. Mananghid nakos tanan nga akong giapilan ug gisuportahan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01