Steemph.Antipolo's Cake for the Steemfest

in #philippines6 years ago

2018_0315_12035900.jpg credits to @mariejoyacajes for sharing to me this photo because I was not able to use my camera

As Steemit Antipolo held its first ever Steemfest, I was able to understand more of the Steemit platform and how to maximize its use. I'm not going to feature anymore what happened to the event because many members of our community will narrate their own experience. As for me, I will only narrate the feeling of disappointment and frustration as I happen to damage the cake intended for the said event. 😢 I'm very sorry. It was my own mistake. The almost perfect cake was ruined when I placed the topper design. Sadly as it may seem, here's how the story goes...

Thursday last week when my wife and I fetched the wafer topper design for the cake pre-ordered for the said event. The design has a shelf life of 5 days so we manage to handle it well and use it before it expires. It is made of edible paper, a thin layer of wafer and printed with edible ink. It was covered in a thin plastic wrapper so as to avoid moisture and dust and to avoid exposure in direct heat. A carton was also inserted on its back to prevent it from folding.
received_1979191968789171.jpeg

My wife then prepared the cake for the event. She baked it the night before the event because I will set off as early as 8 o'clock and to give ample amount of time for other things to be done. That same night, she instructed me what to do on the topper design. As she finished the cake, she took pictures of it. It was a magnificent work of her.
received_1984147718293596.jpeg

received_1984147854960249.jpeg

The base is a chocolate cake baked in an 8x14 pan. Quite heavy though because of its firmness, more bread on the content than air. And its height, a whopping 3inches. She used baking pipe to inlay the tri-color design. The color of the white icing blended together with the colors red, blue and yellow. It may look too patriotic for it resembles the colors of the Philippine flag.
received_1984147144960320.jpeg

received_1984148151626886.jpeg

A closer look of the design...
received_1984147898293578.jpeg

Much closer...
received_1984148171626884.jpeg

So, there you go. She made an almost perfect cake. Truly, a beautifully created one. She stored it in our refrigerator to solidify the icing and to prolong its freshness. She instructed me to remove it as I woke up. Peel the cover of the wafer topper and stick it on top. Use rubber spatula to flatten the remaining sides. Stick it from top to bottom, carefully laying down the design to avoid creating bubbles. Such instructions were very easy to comprehend. But matters became worse, it did not meet my expectations. Steps 1 to 3 were done. But sticking it from top to bottom became a dillema for me. The cake's surface was not perfectly flat, so if I am going to press it downwards, it will still remain embossed.
received_2065822746768354.jpeg

Next situation to point, the tri-color icing design was accidentally touched and colored my fingers. It contaminated the wafer topper design. A blue mark on the white background can be easily distinguished. Oh no! What am I going to do? 😱
received_2065817783435517.jpeg

But then, the bad luck does not end there. What's worse than contaminating it... i accidentally tore down the sun's rays while flattening out the design. 😭
received_2065824806768148.jpeg

Goodness gracious! What have I done? I think I ruined it. I actually ruined it. There is no remedy for that. Feelings of disappointment suddenly rushed in. What seems to be perfect became terrible because I mistakenly did it wrong. But I have to deliver it now. I have to face the consequences of my actions.

I became apologetic to the customer who ordered. I told the truth with complete details, so as to lighten the case. Luckily, I was forgiven and I feel relieved when he saw the cake and liked it. Whew! That was a close one. But still, thank GOD for this day.

2018_0315_11191900.jpg

The Steemfest celebration became successful. We were filled with overflowing knowledge, tips and techniques. We were also able to list down useful links and articles that we could review. I want to thank the speakers from Steemph @dandalion and @steemitph for being generous in sharing to us their mission as a community. My mood became lighter. I can smile widely now. No more heavy breathing. I enjoyed the wonderful event of Steemit Antipolo's Steemfest. Thank you for taking the time to read. And for listening to me venting out my frustrations. Don't worry, I'm ok now. 👍😉👌

Sort:  

wow nakakagutom namn sarap nyan grabeh uulitulitin mo kurutin heheh.. :)

saLamat @riderblack at naging suki na kayo ng aming mga gawang cakes

Yey! What a lovely cake! Cheers to steemph and every Filipino Steemians! You're all AWESOME!

thanks @dearjoyce 😊 i think you are also part of Steemph community. where exactly in the Philippines are you located?

Manila/Batangas John!

Its good to see steemians having a get together like this.The cake looks delicious and beautifully made with effort .:) thumbs up for that!!!!

eventhough the appearance seems a bit damaged, the Steemians from Antipolo still loved it. when the first slice was made, everyone sliced on their own. and in just minutes, it was all gone.
thanks for the compliments @reginecruz 😄

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jampol from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hwaw rainbow cake ba yan? Nice.

hindi po. chocolate cake po. para sa event ng Steemfest. 😊

Hehe Thank you @johnpd for acknowledgement.^^

weaLthcome po upLine! 😁

Thanks ulit @johnpd sa paggawa ng cake ni S.A, maraming salamat sa effort mo and sa masarap na banana mamon, basta kung ano mang tawag sa kanya. <3

banana muffin 🍌
for your inquiries and orders, just contact me.
free delivery in Antipolo area only. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54225.25
ETH 2280.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29