Work to Live or Live to Work? Which one are you at the moment?

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, in this post I will be tackling some issues about some work trends, and if there are any other source of income or alternative aside from working. So I suggest you sit tight, because this will be a bumpy ride with mixed emotions and whatnot.

factory.jpg
photo credits

Work to live or Live to Work

That definitely is the question. In a third world country like mine which is the Philippines, roughly 85% of the population are employees of some company, establishments, or business. Most people can relate when I say that many chose to work since putting up your own business is not that viable unless you have a decent capital to start your own business. Most households have an employee or two and mostly it's the parents or the mother and the father. Sadly, most employees spend their time working and hardly have any time to spend with families, from the preparations on the morning to the trip to the work areas, until the 8 hours regular working hours, and some extra hours for over time, it takes about 15-18 hours of our daily lives. So basically most of us are "Living to work", it's like we only exist to work and earn money to provide for our families. We can not enjoy the liberty of having to spend time with our loved ones, we even miss out on some important events or milestones, like in my case, I never saw my kids'(both of them, 2 boys) first steps, I never heard their first words, there are even time when I have to be away during Christmas because I have to pull some all nigther just to make sure there won't be any hiccups during the holidays. All these sacrifices just to make sure I can provide them with the necessities they need, and so that we can eat more than three times a day. That's the traditional work trend anyway.

online business.jpg
photo credits

Alternatives, Opportunities, Possibilities

Above we tackles how the traditional work trends affect most of the labor forces, now we're gonna look at "income" from a different angle. It is true that work is the first option when you think about income, it's easy to find work than to put up a business, it's convenient, no need to manage and do everything over from scratch and also there are plenty of options. But have you ever looked at the bigger picture and tried thinking outside the box? If you haven't yet, here are some ideas that might pique your interest:

  • Selling your talents - Some people sell stuffs; yes, I mentioned most chose to join the labor force since they can't afford to put up their own business, yet here I am suggesting selling stuffs. What I mean by selling your talent is, you find people who needs the out come of your talents, like for example; someone in your community needs a choreographer for a dance routine, or an author needs a decent cover photo for a book, those are the things you can do that others can't and you can make money from it.

  • Affiliate Programs - There are tons of available affiliate programs in the internet nowadays, most of them can net you passive incomes, and the best part is you can mix this with your traditional "day job".

  • Social Media Posts - It is quite widely known that we can advertise anything on social media, sell stuffs, auction, or even advertise services. But little does everyone know that there's a social media that pays you for posting, commenting and up-voting, that's right, I' talking about our very own steemit.com. If I am not mistaken, this is the first and only(for now maybe?) social media that pays you for your contents, facebook, twitter, IG and many more social media platforms are earning tons of money but never really gives back to the community except the fact that user are allowed to use the platform for free, when in fact users should also get something back from the social media platform since it is the platform's bread and butter. But with our steemit, we get what we deserve, and we also get to enjoy the liberty of posting whatever we want to post just like regular social media platforms.

  • Crypto Currency: Trading and Mining - Well this topic is one hell of a vast topic, so I'll just talk about the basics. crypto currency trading or also known as crypto trading is not so different with fiat trading, where you invest on stocks, then trade and ride the waves of stock exchange, same goes for crypto trading, in a sense. In crypto trading we trade whatever coin we have at our disposal also riding the waves of the crypto exchange. While in mining it's also like mineral or precious jewels mining, except you don't get dirty, I am a miner myself, but I run on a small time scale, I mine ethereum, and just like real life miners, there are work to be done, every crypto transactions happening all around the globe are sent into the block chain, and these transactions are solve using several components like GPUs(Graphic Processing Units), CPUs(Central Processing Unit) and ASICs or Application-Specific Integrated Circuit. These components do all the hard work a.k.a "mining", they solve many computations in seconds and sends them to the block chain for confirmations.

These samples are just a few of the endless earning possibilities, with the help of the current technology, new methods are discovered everyday on how to earn, and make life easier.

family outing.jpg
photo credits

Conclusion

So, in my opinion, we should not stick to the stereotypes where old methods of earnings are the best ways, we should learn to explore the possibilities and accept the fact that the world is evolving and we should learn to cope up with it, having less time at work and more time spent with your family, sharing precious moments, the bond built over time, the memories shared, now that's something money can't buy or replace. At least not directly.

Thank you for reading, and I hope you enjoyed this little article!

steemitfamilyph.jpg
I am a part of @steemitfamilyph. Join us! Follow - Upvote - Resteem - Comment
Be a member on our Facebook page -- Click this Link

Sort:  

Great post! Although for some people it is more obvious than for others, I believe there is always a way to get to work to live. If not fully, then strive for partially!

Hustle, learn, adept, create, help, give and don't forget to ask sometimes :-)

Thanks for the feedback and input, I'll be using these inputs as reference for my future topics that are relevant to this post.

Awesome Post! Your post is the top pick for the latest edition of Top 20 Commented Posts using the #philippines tag

Your post has been upvoted at 100% = $0.19 and resteemed to my 582 followers, and you will be featured on the next edition. Congrats

Thank you very much @cryptotem, Hopefully I can bring my SP up so that I can reward posts like this more.

Oh my God! I just realized it just now that this post was picked as well, thank you for reading my posts, even though I'm a newbie in this platform, it is heart warming that someone actually appreciates my posts. Thank you very much for the appreciation. This gives me tons of motivation to produce even more quality posts. Again, thank you!

So glad to hear that :), it is one of the goals of my initiative to give motivation and reward fellow Steemians with quality posts.

More great things to come I will be posting a new way to reward authors on the next edition :)

I work at home instead. ^-^

Same here, but I'll be having a day job soon, it can't be helped, need some exercise. XD

I need one too when my mom will give me a small business to handle. Haha

That's a great post!

Soon I will a post that goes in a similar direction.
Your initial situation may not be the best, but YOU have the opportunity to make the best of it.

Don't think in problems, think in solutions!
I will resteem :)

Thanks for the positive feedback, that's right never mind the problem and don't ponder on it, it's more productive if people would think of a solution than to waste time thinking about the problem. Good day mate!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jamesanity06 to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Galing..lodi

Mas lodi ko parin kayo, barya barya lang sakin, sa inyo papel na. hahaha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98