Meeting Michael Forester, a contemporary poet writer

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

image

For those of you who don’t know, Michael Forester is the author of several incredible books. He wrote my favorite series of all time, If it wasn't for that dog. In addition he has written Dragon Song and Rainforest which are also totally amazing.

image

Anyway, Mr. Forester is one of my biggest writing idols. I adore his style and his characters, his poet are so powerful and unique, and all of the aforementioned books have brought me to tears. (And I don’t cry easily, so that’s saying something.)
So of course, when I found out he was going to be visiting here on Philippines very close to my school, I just about peed myself. (Just kidding. Maybe.) I’ve been wanting to meet him since I first picked up one of his books 1 year ago, so … was I excited? Um, yes

The location was easily accessible by tricycle, which was convenient. So one of my best friends (who is also a big fan) and I went together and arrived just in time.

image

He was friendly and interactive with the crowd, he was very funny, and he also gave a lot of terrific advice for fellow writers. What stuck with me the most was when he said, “If you’re going to write something, write it with joy.” He went on to explain that what he thinks is the most important part of writing is working on something that excites you and makes you happy. Even if the final product isn’t the best book in the world, what’s important is that your enthusiasm is evident in the writing

image

Then came the book-signing portion of the evening. So my friend and I got in line and had to wait for a few minutes. At this point, I was kind of freaking out because I was about to meet my favorite author in the world and had no idea what I was going to say. But before I knew it, we were up next in line.

Photo is mine

To give @surpassinggoogle your witness voting decision, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy

Other recommended witness: @beanz @curie @teamsteem @acidyo @reggaemuffin @utopian-io @good-karma @blocktrades @timcliff @hr1 @cloh76.witness @busy.org @precise @arca @clains

image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94