My Personal Philosophy of Education

in #philippines6 years ago

Being in the teaching profession for half a decade, I naturally came up with my own norms, ways and beliefs on what education in the country is, how students in the Philippines are, and how teaching should be in this vast progressing generation of the youth. Children nowadays are curious, they are very interested to adulthood and are in a hurry to get into different life experiences forgetting to enjoy playing games and enjoy their age. This indeed is evident especially in urban areas. I remember the days when I was also a grade 5 student in the province; I am contented with going to school with complete school materials and with packed lunch not needing a penny in my pocket. After school I’m all good in playing outside with my cousins for a few hours and that’s it. Life was simple and being able to go to school and learn is already very valuable for me.

Since I became a teacher I have widely observed student’s behavior as years go by. Children’s demand has been significantly rising from the need to have their own computers at home to having their own mobile phones as early as the age of 10 plus their demand of having their own smart phones and tablets. Obviously most of the students nowadays have their own social media accounts for which I think is quite helpful for them to be technologically inclined and quickly familiarize themselves in using a computer, or if ever they are doing it using another gadget, they already have an idea how an operating system works. Let us of course take off the fact that technology is also taking their chance to mingle with people personally.

Seeing these students quickly getting along with the rise of technology and the cyber world, I realized the need of the teacher to get into the pace and if possible be more advanced than them to align my methods of teaching in capturing their interests. Thus, this made me come up with my philosophy of matching your students’ interest rather than forcing the students adjust to the traditional method of teaching. Through this approach, I did not only get my students’ attention during lecture hours but I was also able to gain their trust that I am at their back as they explore the world of curiosity and technology and yet make them understand that there is no harm in exploration but make sure that they will only do and look after what is appropriate for their age.

Never should a teacher get stocked in the traditional way of education, time is passing by so as the pace of modernization and student’s pace of learning, a teacher must be able to adjust not only on the ways of teaching but also in being effective and efficient on other tasks that a teaching job requires. Education is not just about a teacher, student and an hour of lecture and discussion. Education is about teaching, and as a practitioner it is also about learning to adapt to the demands and trend of the learners and the society.


photo source:

https://goo.gl/images/6Hv7WX

https://goo.gl/images/3gU6Wg

Thank you for dropping by!
let us all continue voting
@surpassinggoogle as proxy for witness or by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.
Let us also take part in spreading and supporting #teardrops #untalented and #untalented-adjustments

Sort:  

Nice... Upvoted

You are indeed a hero, teacher @greenhorn . Mabuhay po kayo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56159.14
ETH 2370.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30