What poverty has taught me

in #philippines5 years ago (edited)

IMG20180825195246.jpg

Hello Folks,

Happy New year! Yes this is post number one for the year of the pig 2019.So you might be thinking what crazy mindset I am into an I pen this at a year most feng shui expert predict as a year of plenty.

How did I come up with this topic anyway?It would be ordinary to bless God or any divinity St times of plenty but always I remind myself time being temporary I should also be grateful for the days I barely made it through. So while I sip my "sikwate "meaning pure cocoa drink I look back at the times poverty was my reality. IMG_20180729_050955.jpg
LESSON One :
That life is diffucult but still worth it.

Many would dream of being born with silver spoon or hitting that million jackpot. But unfortunately like most I was born without. Early on in life I was taught I need to strive to exist. There were many times I wish to bail out on life but when I'm about to I come across people who have harder share of lifr than mine yet they are content and happy. So with it I am made to reevaluate my values and my priorities.

IMG_20181114_100806.jpg
I learned it's not the make of your shoes or the car you drive or the restaurant you have dined in that makes living a joy but rather the collection of memories be it happy or sad that you experienced alone or collective that makes life worthy of another fight.

On a personal note, when I am exhausted of my work I look into the faces of those workers toiling under a scorching heat and find myself more energetic to be in my work station. I found its not the material stuff that makes man cling to life otherwise I'd this be true then Japan ,UK, USA and other first countries would register zero suicide. In Philippines ,3rd world country as it is one can find laughter even in the most unlivable spaces and you'd be surprised how they managed to make the most out of the situation to live life to the fullest. I must admit there are times I am jealous of the courage and faith they have to get married, raise children or even volunteer their limited resources for greater good. IMG20181111061342.jpg
LESSON two
To be grateful .

Across the county, my experience as a highschool teacher and a nurse I have come. across students who walks hours just to go to school that literally drips when rain pours or like burning furnace at summer time. I had personally witnessed hundreds waking up early just to queue for hours for some medical assistance. It's no big secret most of the schools and hospitals are in want of good facility and professional workers. Many had been saying there is a brain drain because of rampant migration of doctors, nurses, teachers, engineers etc. But with the high rate of unemployment who are we to point they are less nationalistic for wishing to be in greener pastures.
IMG20180321085123.jpg
So where does it leaves the many thousands in this situation? Some can rant but I prefer to be grateful for the problems I never had and for every little favors from my Supreme being be it the neighbor's herbal medicine to cure my cough or that hand me downs clothes from abroad we call "ukay ukay" literally meaning to mix. Povery taught me to be grateful of the tax money that sponsored my college education in University of the Philippines. Their plight to have descent regular jobs, food on their table,roof on their head among others would always find a soft spot on my heart.
IMG20180805062457.jpg
When I volunteer for causes despite my hectic schedules it's because of this. My motivation to earn more despite being single and childless flows from these experiences. Early on I learned the value of backyard gardening and some life skills which would prove helpful in my corporate life. Greed and power struggles maybe common in the business world but my humble beginning has educated me that the janitors are as human as the CEO so I take offense with few others who taught that their jobs are their birth rights like the politicians who bags our money on ghost projects.
IMG20190109141822.jpg
With free medical insurance now because of my job I am less anxious about getting sick but I wish my elderly parents and everyone of my loved ones would enjoy the same employed or not. It's humbling to listen to the many Juans who say praises for their good health and their good fortune despite being in debt with loan sharks. Some would find it ludicrous to hear them say their thanksgiving yet I thinks it's more insane not to feel one is blessed if ones afluent.Many of self made man and woman attribute their success for values ,attitudes,and skills and innovative ideas they learned out of want afterall.

Can you even guess this old woman's age? She will be 80years old and I bet similar age to her would envy her mobility and young looking face. I'm pretty sure she doesn't have those pricey face cremes to keep wrinkles away or have the luxury of going for a yoga or a cardiologist yet she's healthy as a horse. Her secret? A good disposition and her daily work that sharpens neuron and tones her muscles. Yes I am in my third cup of "sikwate "while I wrestle with myself if it's even worth my time to scribble this thoughts for others to read.
IMG20180604164103.jpg
Yes laughter is therapeutic I so learned. Most of my coping skills or stress busting strategies that I have acquired that does not need spending a dime I learned in those chitchat. Yes I could have used that time to earn more bucks but looking forward while the wealthy splurge on psychotic drugs for a fix or for a session with a shrek I got mine free .If I can smile like that through life I am certain I'd live to be a centennarian.

IMG20180805062612.jpg
While many statesman where put in office in this country by massive vote buying by the average earners we should be mindful that the women's suffrage and healthcare plans we envy the first countries where brought about by much bloodshed by the lowly masses.Scientific inventions that revolutionize how we lived were made possible by people who understands it's necessities to create a better world for everyone not just it's revenues

IMG20190109124052.jpg

LESSON three
Talent ,genius and beauty is a gift.

Many would pride in wearing expensive clothes or being educated in elite schools. Yet if you check today's billionaires most of them were born from low income families. If one is keen one can come across an skillful yet unrecognized artisan .We had wept out hearts over reality talent shows over stars with angelic voices and with life stories that are inspiring enough for songs or books to be written about. The famous author of Harry Potter ,JK Rowling would not have come up with those special powers had she not imagined herself invincible and empowered to survive her ordeal.So what does it teach us ?Personal it taught me to empathize what's it like to be in their feet. It help me to see them as a person like me. Hence you'd find me carrying a conversation with the motorcycle driver or the garbage collector. Because even them nuggets of wisdom to share.
IMG_20181231_114652.jpg
So far this year I hope you have a life of abundance but if not I hope you find that srong character is among others you'd develop while striving to make a living. I hope when you go through this year you see things as transient so you wont succumb to depression and desperation. I wish you champion those high held values no matter how unpopular. And finally I pray you find beauty in every circumstance irregardless of its financial importance. May your treasure lies in things that don't depreciate in value with time .May your year be blessed with the company of loyal friends and family, best of health mind body and spirit and lot of faith or hope

Have a good year.

Till next post,
AynIMG_20181229_215723.jpg

IMG_20180624_141040.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01