My first attempt to climb a coconut tree

in #philippines5 years ago (edited)

IMG20190430093655.jpg
How I wish I was as relaxed as this guy when I was on this tree. How I wish it was picture perfect to decieve many I was way high on top but my frightened face give it all away on my first attempt that I need to redo many shots.
IMG_20190430_100048.jpg

Well Siargao is famous for its huge waves best for surfing and it's pristine white beaches. But do you also know coconut also defines this tropical paradise?

Well it's true. Ask anyone who has been to this place and they'd tell you that the moment the plane land it's strips of coconut trees they'll see.
IMG_20190430_150108.jpg
So part of the package they offer here would include a swing into this tree then a plunge into its green river like in the famous destination Maasin bridge which charges an extravagant sum of 200php for such an experience. Being frugal as we are we opted to just observe them from the distance.

If you notice, because this place is fast becoming popular many peddlers are selling their craft and what I find most intriguing would be the liquor glasses and drinking straws made from bamboo .

IMG_20190430_151752.jpg

So what we did for free?Topping the list was to take a jump shot in the middle of remote road lined with the coconut trees. Then off course I took on the challenge of climbing one. Mind you it took me several attempts to get a descent picture .IMG_20190501_104523.jpg

One thing I notice about Siargao are it's artistic mural paintings. And here is one that caught my eyes. I wish I was sexier here but I'm sure I can learn to be as useful as this tree. From top to bottom this tree has been utilised by Man for generations. So what does all this reflections on this tree provide me? It gives me a better insight into life that nothing is ever ordinary.
IMG20190501092026.jpg

In our own town there will be trees like this but rarely are they noticed .Here is where Siargao made its mark --they made what seemingly common tree so social network platform worthy for people to travel distance just to be captured climbing it, swinging under it or taking pictures with it as background. A good point to ponder.
IMG_20190501_093247.jpg
Till next post,
Ayn

Sort:  

This post has received a 9.12% upvote from @swiftcash, thanks to @msg768 🤑

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61328.01
ETH 2752.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45