Arakan Valley, Philippines: A Hidden Gem

in #philippines6 years ago

8319273E-354D-4180-8B43-289EFD69AE10.jpeg
Cotabato may not be everyone's "hashtag travel goals" not even to mine, but little did I know that there is a hidden gem settling amidst its golden valleys.

A month after my successful assault in Philippines' highest summit (which I considered my major climb for this year). There's an urge I can't barely resist that I need to pack my bag and go for another trek.


And my feet have led me here.

But how did I get here?

FA9EBA25-AA77-4834-94EF-122D2CB68F27.jpeg
We started trekking from the jump-off area at nine in the morning and thank heavens for a beautiful clearing.

Upon registration, the tourist guide asked our group which trail are we going to take: simple or extreme.

5B28EAC0-9AF9-459F-88E7-B06A69BAA927.jpeg
Without having second thoughts, we chose the extreme trail. (I prefer not to spoil the difference between the two trails to leave an excitement for those who wanted to experience this hahahaha)

After an hour and half of trek from the village under the scorching heat, I have finally seen a glimpse of comfort.
3EFBCF0D-A162-413D-9116-39F8234BE55B.jpeg

We went down and this part was such a relief from a very challenging trek on the valley. The area was so cool that we stayed here for awhile to rest.
567BFAF4-85DA-456F-9664-4899D4F73BF6.jpeg

After getting enough rest, we then moved on (Unta ani lang ka sayon mag move on no? Rest lang gamay then okay na dayun ka) to our real destination, the natural infinity pool located atop of this.

I was not able to document the trail in going up the falls. Aside from it was so muddy and I have to use both hands to hold a stable grip, my astigmatism got in "Kill-Joy" mode. So I dealt with it and prefer not to gamble with a buhis-buhay pose on a 90-degree slope. In the lighter note, you may consider this portion of the route as a teaser.

Arisgada Reminder #1: If you were also diagnosed with astigmatism, please always bring with you your eye glasses. (Nagsalig mangud ko nga dayclimb lang, so I left it at home, which I regretted big time) White flower, vicks vapor rub, and vicks inhaler might also be relievers but I forgot to bring all these essentials. I brought nothing but your memories (mao lage).

A64AC90E-64B5-4EA6-B4E8-A0A16F5DB633.jpeg
After more than 30 minutes of a very rigid ascend, we have reached the middlle portion of the 500-meter gigantic water falls.

We asked our guide if how long will it still take to reach the top, and based on our pacing, he said it would take 30 minutes or more.

DB224323-9F71-4232-8984-3B5A6EE12CE0.jpeg
So we decided to take our lunch. (We bought this viand at Ecoland Terminal, Davao City)

Arisgada Reminder #2: Though it's not mandatory, but it would be nice to bring extra food for your guide. We overlooked the scenario that we have to prepare food for our guide. So, what we did was, we divided to five portions the food we bought intended for three persons so we could share to tatay guide and his nephew. If you wish to bring, please choose healthier food not like the ones we brought. Huhuhu sorry tatay.

1FDFF908-EA66-46A6-BD48-B85A5A9F902E.jpeg
After the light meal. Hello to the last level.

And finally, after five more minutes. I reached the top of falls. It offers an enchanting overview of the valleys.
802B4B03-EAFF-4A05-8F03-1DD47B7D775E.jpeg

This trail taught me important lessons.

519A079E-32C9-4106-B2F3-2F3AD717462C.jpeg

I admit, I underestimated this trail. While I was still on the valley, I was asking myself, "is this extreme to them?". As I go farther and farther, the route was also getting more difficult and exhausting. There I realized I was wrong and that there's always more to life I need to keep learning. But instead of taking my thoughts against me, I reflected to it as I watch the heavy pour of water. It will always look easy in the start and will make you believe you can control the situation but you will always encounter obstacles along the way. These will either make you or break you. At the end of the day, it is your will and trust to God that save you.

6ABA1C10-6EB2-4FF1-87ED-D0BA9A578728.jpeg

I wish to feed as many information as I want but part of me wants you to experience it firsthand. So, I'm not gonna take you the chance of discovering your own kind of adventure.

9B0FCAF4-2DDF-46DF-8468-104ECF14FCBA.jpeg
As ALWAYS, take nothing but photos,
LEAVE nothing but footprints and ALWAYS PROPAGATE your love for nature.

Love,
DYANARHA 💛

Sort:  

@fueledbywit, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Congratulations @fueledbywit, your post has been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.
You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.

See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65856.98
ETH 2663.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88